383 nead help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:16 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
383 nead help

Did i grind to much, it took alot to get .065 clearance. cam is a 266 @50 solid roller 640 lift 112 lobe sep. Do i nead to get som stroker rods? The crank is a 400 turned down. Thanks for help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0906101702a.jpeg
Views:	108
Size:	29.1 KB
ID:	47924   Click image for larger version

Name:	0906101703.jpeg
Views:	104
Size:	24.8 KB
ID:	47925  

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:27 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 8,809
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 19
Thanked 352 Times in 322 Posts
.040" clearance would have been more than enough, if the crank can flex more than that its gonna blow apart doing it. You shouldn't have needed to go that far down the side of the rod either. I'd be a little leary of the amount you removed from the bolt head. Are these ARP bolts?? ARP is the only brand I would even think to trust with that much removed, and those don't look like ARP in the pic. If they are stock...no way would I use them.

If you use a .040" thick 12" long plastic zip tie as a feeler gauge it is easy to tell if it clears or pinches between the rods and cam lobes. Another tip is to measure from the rod bearing bore out to the angled flat you ground on the rod and grind it to a .625" thickness measurement directly tangent to the rod bore, this will clear 98% of all cams you might use
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2010, 08:31 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 8,809
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 19
Thanked 352 Times in 322 Posts
Also, ground as far as you have, I have seen them start to split the head off the bolt, and have seen the rod material start to collapse under the bolt head due to lack of material. Neither situation is good for torque value retention.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2010, 09:03 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply, those are brand new arp rod bolts, also the guy that had the motor before me ground all that far down on the rod, the rod bolts are the ones that have a angeled head for clearance. I just kinda matched what was done previous but it looks kind of scary to me. Im wondering if thats the reason it turned two bearings on him? I had rods resized and new bolts put in, i think i just wasted my money.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2010, 09:11 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 8,809
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 19
Thanked 352 Times in 322 Posts
If it spun two before, you could make a reasonable assumption that the rod bolt torque may have relaxed, causing it to spin. They don't spin for just no reason, either tension relaxed by some means(bolt or rod material), or lack of oil, or rod bore out of round(could be bolt problems there too).

$200 SCAT rods would be a good deal, I couldn't make myself use what you have, it looks like too big a risk, could end up real expensive if they fail.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-07-2010, 07:32 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for advice ive decided to get some good rods too much invested to go cheap where it counts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:44 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Guys heres a update i got my new rods and went with a new set of speed pro hypers and new ring set. The issue with the rings is i put them in the cylinder to check ring gap and it .120 what the heck? My old wore out rings are only .030 gap. did they send me the wrong rings im confused if i put that together it would have way to much blow by correct? please help guys thanks. Its a standard bore and standard pistons.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:48 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,521
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 681
Thanked 869 Times in 739 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bracketracer
Guys heres a update i got my new rods and went with a new set of speed pro hypers and new ring set. The issue with the rings is i put them in the cylinder to check ring gap and it .120 what the heck? My old wore out rings are only .030 gap. did they send me the wrong rings im confused if i put that together it would have way to much blow by correct? please help guys thanks. Its a standard bore and standard pistons.
Yeah, wrong rings. Don't use 'em. What is the part number on the packaging. Have you checked to see if that number coincides with your motor at standard bore?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:59 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 8,809
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 19
Thanked 352 Times in 322 Posts
I have run across recent posts on other boards about rings packaging foul-ups from Speed-Pro/Sealed Power like you describe. Speculation was it has something to do with many of there parts being made in India and Mexico, but I don't know if anyone posted where the rings are being made to confirm this.

You definately have a problem with a .120" gap, miss-marked packaging or incorrect rings in the correctly marked boxes. You're going to have to get in touch with customer service where you got the parts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 09:03 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The part number on the box shows to be correct could they have put wrong rings in the box? The part# E251K , 2M139. What do i do now reorder the correct ones for standard size pistons? this sucks. what do you guys prefer for rings and should i get the file fit rings, there hyperutectic speed pros
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 09:12 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,521
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 681
Thanked 869 Times in 739 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bracketracer
The part number on the box shows to be correct could they have put wrong rings in the box? The part# E251K , 2M139. What do i do now reorder the correct ones for standard size pistons? this sucks. what do you guys prefer for rings and should i get the file fit rings, there hyperutectic speed pros
Opinions may differ on this, but I would only fool with file-fit rings if I were blueprinting and assembling a race motor. There is so much wrong with a run-of-the-mill street motor that precision ring end gap would be the last thing I would worry about.

I don't think Speed-Pro uses a strange top ring end gap like Keith Black does, so I would just use whatever the rings end up at, like somewhere between 0.018" and 0.022" for instance on a 4" bore. Make sure you follow their instructions though, in case they are different from what I have just said. Too much gap is way better than too little gap.

Just call up the guys where you ordered them and get their instructions for returning the bogus rings and getting the genuine articles. One point I will make, be certain that you check EVERY ring for backspace and vertical clearance in the ring grooves and ring end gap in the bore.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 09:17 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 09:24 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 8,809
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 19
Thanked 352 Times in 322 Posts
Sure sounds like wrong rings in a correctly marked box, that part # is for 4.0" bore rings, 5/64", 5/64", 3/16" (stock)ring widths. Appears you may have 283/307 rings in the wrong box if they match this on widths but you have a .120" gap.

I wouldn't fool with file fits in your case either, not enough gain for the hassle involved, plus you need a ring filer.

Like Techinspector said, if recommended gap is .018-.022", a larger gap in the upper .020's on the top ring won't hurt a thing, but .120" is certainly way too much.

For stockish and claimer level rings, I like Hastings and Grant.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 09:31 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: wichita ks
Posts: 127
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys im sure glad i checked the ring gap can you imagine how much blow by that thing would have? Would it even run rite i wonder how many people have just throne something together without checking that sort of detail.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 09:38 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,521
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 681
Thanked 869 Times in 739 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bracketracer
Thanks guys im sure glad i checked the ring gap can you imagine how much blow by that thing would have? Would it even run rite i wonder how many people have just throne something together without checking that sort of detail.
According to some of the questions I see on forums, I would suspect most of them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ok, here's the debate of the century: 383 or 400 chevy!! Cast your vote and reason killerformula Engine 303 03-28-2013 08:08 PM
383 stroker v.s. 383 chrysler ...the end mcharger440 Engine 58 12-07-2012 08:16 AM
350 vs 383 build for performance Biscuit6447 Hotrodding Basics 20 03-05-2010 08:42 AM
383 0r 406??? Zubair Engine 60 10-14-2005 07:53 PM
What makes a 383 so much more expensive? Chevy21 Engine 12 09-30-2004 08:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.