383 SBC Bearing Clearance Issues. Fresh Rebuild. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2009, 01:06 PM
VW makes it, Chevy shakes it..

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

383 SBC Bearing Clearance Issues. Fresh Rebuild.

For starters, this is my first build and I'm on a strict budget, but want to get this done right.

Parts list:
383 Internal balance Eagle 3.75" crank. Std bearing size.
Stock 5.7" rods, ARP 383 rods pressed in and resized.

I recently got my engine and rotating assembly back from the machine shop. I had the block decked to 9.020, honed, magnafluxed, hot tanked, the rods big end resized and ARP 383 rod bolts pressed in. Not in that order, but that's what I had done.

Upon pre-assembly I have run into a few problems.

Problem 1: The main bearings checked out fine, .0018-.002, but I'm getting a clearance of .001 or less on some of the rod journals using plastigage. Some of them have checked out fine at .0015, but then some are WAY wider than the .001 strip measurement. Sometime these measurements are on the same rod journal.

What should I do?

a) Try plastigaging again cause perhaps I messed up somewhere removing the rod / piston squishing the plastic giving me a bad reading.

b) Take it the machine shop and have them check / mic the clearances. The rod ends or journals might not be to spec. I'll explain what the machine shop would do to correct this problem.

c) Sell it to me for $1

Problem 2: