383 Stroker Build - Just looking for input - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2009, 12:10 PM
1979 Monte

Wiki Edits: 0

383 Stroker Build - Just looking for input

I've been doing research for a few months now and (assuming the block I have checks out good) have decided to go with a 383 Stroker. What I'm wanting to end up with is something that will turn my Monte into a high 10's low 11's car (3600lbs)

I'm using a combination of a couple of builds with parts that I "think" are slightly upgraded but I may be botching the whole mess. Builds 71, 93, 114 from here. are what I'm looking at.

I have a 4 bolt 350 block that if it checks out will be what I'm using, I don't have any history on it yet.

AFR-1067 227cc Racing Heads (76cc 2.100in 1.60ex)
I figured I'd order these with valves etc already installed.

I want to use a forged, crank, rods (6.00in), and pistons (was going to use Eagle 4340 parts for the crank and rods until I heard about some issues with them) Pistons I've picked so far are KB-SLD Dome -6.3cc (KB733KTM is the kit) which with the calculator on their site say I should be around 10.5:1 with rough guesses on block work.

I picked 2 cams:
Comp Cams XR280R (12-771-8)
or
Comp Cams 300AR (12-705-8)
I'm just not sure if they are too much or not enough.

I've got 2 carbs picked out:
Both are Holley 4150 Street HP Carbs
80529-1 750 CFM Vac. Sec
80509-1 830 CFM Mec. Sec.
I've read a few things on people using the 750 with the 830(??) base plate and getting better performance. Is that an option? Or would just going with the 830 be better?