383 Stroker help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2006, 03:38 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

383 Stroker help

Hey guys, Im building a 383 stroker using a 93 Chevy 350 block. I was wondering if you guys have any suggestions on weather I should i use an Internally or externally balanced crankshaft.Should I use a 1 or 2 piece rear seal crankshaft since it will go in a 66 Chevy with a manual transmission. Any suggestions? I am new at this never built a stroker before.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-02-2006, 04:45 PM
World Class ASE tech

Last photo:

If the block is a 1 pc seal then that is what i would go with. If you external balance this you will need a manual trans flywheel for a 400. A real rare part.
Now you can take a 350 flywheel and balance it to the 383 crank. It will take a lot of drilling but it can be done.
The rods will probably hit the cam and the sides of the block. This can all be fixed with a grinder. Take just a very little bit of the edge of the rod that hits the cam and grind the block for the rod nuts to clear. When I build them I number all the pistons and rods so they go back in the same place. I have a polished down wrist pin that floats in the stock rods. That way you don't have to press the rods on to check then back off to balance. Check the rods 1 at a time to make sure they clear the cam. About .060" is plenty. And about .060" on the rod nuts to block pan rails. You may have to work on the pan a little bit with a ball peen.
Old 10-02-2006, 04:52 PM

Thanks. will an old style flywheel fit on a 87 - up crankshaft
Old 10-02-2006, 05:15 PM