383 Stroker questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2006, 08:56 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

383 Stroker questions

I'm about to rebuild the engine in my "restored" '91 Chev C1500 and I have a few questions. I have some decent mechanical knowledge but this will be my first engine build.

The truck: Daily driver with a stock TBI 350 and a 700R4 transmission; It's lacking some power so while I'm at the early planning stages I was debating on converting it to a 383. The only mods done are an exhaust system, intake, Hypertech chip and a TBI spacer.

I don't drive too far for work, so I'm not too concerned about MPG, but I was wondering if anyone knew about what to expect? I currently get 15 MPG.

Will the stock TBI system work with this change? TBI upgrade? Chip?

Will I need to look into changing the torque converter? Suggestions?

What exactly is a vortec head? I'm under the impression that it is still cast iron but the valves are bigger and a new intake and exhaust manifolds are needed.

Last question (for now). Potentially the most important question, do you think this would pass emissions?

Thanks in advance; I just found this forum and I've been stuck in front of the screen for about 4 hours now. Great site!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-22-2006, 05:34 AM

Last journal entry: Radio head unit
Last photo:

I just built a 383

I just built a 383 and feel like I survived a plain crash!

I can't answer the MPG question, but fuel injection is your best bet if you have any concerns.

Here is my summary list;