383 stroker timing and carb ???'s - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2010, 01:12 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

383 stroker timing and carb ???'s

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie to the auto performance world. I am a boat and motorcycle mechanic. So please don't flame me to hard. I recently built a 383 stroker for my Tahoe. After I got it installed I am having some mild running issues that I need some assistance with. Hopefully some of he gurus here can help out. Here is a list of what I have in the engine:

Eagle 383 Stroker kit
Speed Pro hypereutectic -5.0cc flat top - 9.7:1 compression bored 30 over
Lunati cam - 515 lift, 246 @ .050 tappit lift
Holley 750 DP ProForm
RPM intake
Summit Racing 72cc heads
full Mallory Hyfire ignition system with Distributor
Timing 32* @ 2500 rpm
I hope that is enough info on the motor

My problem is that the motor seems to load up and it has a rich smell at idle. Once I am going it runs ok, but not great. It is a little bit sluggish to take throttle off idle. Once I get it taking throttle though it revs great. I do not know much about how to adjust/tune the carb so I am not sure where to go. I have readjusted the valves after it has been warmed up and that did help a good bit. I am also not to sure if I have my timing set correctly. So at this point all I can do is research and hope I can find answer to make her run better. That is how I found this forum.

Well that is it in a nutshell. If there is any information I left out that might help with a diagnosis please just ask and I can give you any info you guys might need.
Thanks in advance,
-B

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-16-2010, 01:28 PM