39 olds - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 05:52 PM
slickpaint
 

Last journal entry: Rambler wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Indiana
Age: 49
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
39 olds

anybody know if i can use a s10 frame on my 39 olds coupe

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 06:59 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,329
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
39 Olds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gregory
anybody know if i can use a s10 frame on my 39 olds coupe
Most of the answers you would get here is why would you want to put a frame from a pick-up, on a old car. Not a good idea.

Bob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 07:07 PM
slickpaint
 

Last journal entry: Rambler wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Indiana
Age: 49
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
easy way out with updates
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 07:14 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,329
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
39 Olds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gregory
easy way out with updates
Easy way out of what. If it was such a good idea olds would have put one under it the first time around. The frame under it is what fits, either use that or build your own, using a frame from another car or truck turns out to be a lot of work as nothing fits right.

Bob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 07:17 PM
slickpaint
 

Last journal entry: Rambler wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Indiana
Age: 49
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
to many projects
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 07:31 PM
35terraplane's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MN, ON THE DARK SIDE OF THE MOON
Age: 70
Posts: 1,329
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 61 Times in 52 Posts
39 Olds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Gregory
to many projects
If you are trying to build some thing fast, putting a different frame under it isn't the fast way to go, IMO. My self I wouldn't do it to start with, if I wanted to get it done fast or slow. Again nothing fits, I'm not saying it can't be done, but I just don't understand why anyone would want to do it. There are many on this board that think the same. You have a frame that fits the car, use it.

Bob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 07:48 PM
slickpaint
 

Last journal entry: Rambler wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Indiana
Age: 49
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
whatever, just asking
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-04-2011, 09:00 PM
327NUT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Utah
Age: 68
Posts: 3,300
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 98 Times in 87 Posts
Dave, there has been a ton of guy's asking this same question about using the S-10 chassis (do a search, you'll see) under everything from a Hupmobile to a Peterbuilt. I don't know what the S-10 and your '39 wheel bases are but if you could look at a side view picture of the 2 you would see the challenge....I would assume. Unless the original chassis was completely rusted out, bent ot damaged to the point of unusable I would get it sand blasted, box the frame and spend my money on doing the upgrades to it........much easier.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
olds buick 231 p/s pump onto an olds v-8? fast68 Engine 3 03-04-2010 07:07 PM
71' 350 #7 olds heads on 79' 403 olds Rough-Rider Engine 5 01-22-2007 05:04 PM
Olds 260 to 350? eladrrats Engine 3 12-15-2003 09:55 PM
350 Olds Engine on Any Olds 7skylark6 Engine 8 12-12-2003 07:17 PM
olds 455 oldscutlass General Rodding Tech 2 09-11-2003 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.