390 posi help with understanding difference? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2005, 07:04 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

390 posi help with understanding difference?

Hi everyone, my son's '56/3100 stepside pickup has a 350/350 with what I think is a 390 posi rear (10 bolt). We just had a 74 camaro clip welded in w/pwr steering and it is great! The guy showed me the pinion was very loose while he had it on the rack one day. I had pulled the axles and changed the rear wheel bearings/seals awhile back and everything looked good while I was in there (I'm no expert by any means). He said he noticed the back wheels were not rotating as they should when cornering and wondered if they had been welded together in the rearend. I've heard of using a minispool or the like to lock the axles together, but not welding. Wouldn't I have seen this when I had the axles out and the spider gears on the side come out also at the same time...at least they fall out on me and I have to re-assemble the things...fun. He said he would change the ring/pinion and the associated stuff (loose pinon bearing for example) if we would get the gear from Seco (we get a lot of stuff there). He also said the 390 or 391 was a little different from the usual gears and required a special setup, to tell the guys at Seco and they would know what I was talkaing about to get the correct stuff. Can someone "edumecate" me on this? We have done all the work on this truck up till now...finding an old 350 block and reworking and putting the tranny/motor in and everything associated such as a new "painless" wiring harness (very good at a lower price than the others) and putting bucket seats from a blazer and building a great conso