4 Link tuning - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2003, 01:55 PM
Kid With A Wrench...

Last journal entry: The Blower and test fit.
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

4 Link tuning

Ok guys, kind of stumped here. I just got my car back from getting the cage and tin work done on my 62 Nova. He took the 4 Link off and now with it all installed, the left is about 3/4" lower than the right. My question is, would setting any kind of pre load on one side cause this? I'm new to this type of suspension, and still don't really understand it too much. I also tried to mess with the rod ends, but once I made one longer, I didn't know how to get it bolt back in. Do I have to get something to pry the rear end back a little in order to do this, or do the shocks need to come off? If I do have to pry the rear back, what's a good way to go about doing that? I did check the frame, and it all seems to be level, but once on the suspension it gets uneven. I even put the car up on the frame and the rear was level when it hangs down. I jacked up the rear with the car on it's frame, and I noticed the same reaction (it went up on the left before the right. Any got any tips or clues? Sorry for the long post, just wanted to give as much info as possible. TIA!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-23-2003, 02:13 PM

Last photo:

Ive never used a 4 link, but, it sounds like more of a coilover problem if one side sits lower that the other. R U running coilovers or coil springs? From what I can tell adjustment of the 4 link would just change pinion angle not ride height.
Old 06-23-2003, 04:46 PM
Kid With A Wrench...

Last photo: