40 Merc steering noise (weird) - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2006, 05:37 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

40 Merc steering noise (weird)

I have been building show and race cars for over 30 years and retired but I got talked into one more and this thing is driving me crazy . The car is a 1940 Merc. It has a small block Chev ,Mustang II rack and pin with a stock coll em . Ok hears the problem when you turn the steering wheel about a 1/4 turn it makes a weird noise . It's not a power steering wind noise it's more of a hissing noise . With the steering wheel stopped engine running it still makes that noise .It's like it's coming from the rack and the steering coll em is carrying it into the car. The power steering works great and no leaks and the noise isen't that loud but annoying . it has 2 universals on the feed shaft both under 30 degrees with a dampener new pump and lines. I did rebuild the coll em with new bushings that where in very bad shape but knew this was not going to solve this because it will do it with the wheel turned and holding it still. The Mustang rac and pin where in it when I started working on it so I don't know how new it is
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGA6089p.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	67.7 KB
ID:	8828  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-01-2006, 07:50 PM

Last journal entry: frame build
Last photo: