400 destroked with a 327 crank - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2004, 12:46 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

400 destroked with a 327 crank

I've been racing open wheel modifieds for several years now and have tried many enginge combinations but never a 400 with a 327 crank. I've got a garage full of 327/307 cranks and about as many 400 blocks so I thought I'd build something different. Done the 408/406, 377, 355, 327 and now a high revving 352?

My question is what is the best combo? I've seen 6.125 rods/327 crank and I believe it uses the same piston as a 5.565 rod in a 406. I've seen a Speed Pro piston that is for a 5.7 rod. Obviously the longer rod would be better but I've got a ton of 5.7 rods so I wouldn't have the expense of a 6.125 rod but...........just wondering if anyone has built this combo and what were your results.

Thanks
Tom

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-06-2004, 01:26 PM
Not Considered a Senior Member

Last photo:

the 400 block 327 crank combo was one of smokey yunicks favorites, but i`d also say the best combo is for the track itself, if it`s a short track with tight turns a low straights, a longer stroke and smaller bore would be better since it would be mostly using mid range torque the most out of the curves, on long curves and long straights, a bigger bore and shorter stroke would be better since you`ll need more upper rpm horsepower. but most of all, If I raced a class where the more than 355 cubic inches was legal, the best combo is the one that has the most cubes.
Old 03-06-2004, 03:58 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally posted by DoubleVision