Hot Rod Forum banner

400 heads ideas

3K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  cobalt327 
#1 ·
Hello im 19 and im pretty new with engine work and i have a stock 400 sbc i have a comp cam xe256 that i bought but i wanted to redo all of the top end and dont really know where to start. I dont have a lot of money but just want to run some stock chevy heads on it. just lookin for ideas on what heads would be good to run on it. Any Feedback would be apperciated

#4 ·
I agree 400 heads stock are bad about being cracked and most not good and most are 76cc chamber head with open chambers not good for power at all I would check around for a good 350 head. 64cc closed chamber head and. Just drill steam holes you can follow the head gasket as to where the holes need be i m sure a quick search on Google and gasket in hand most can handle the job I use do mine with hand drill but best use drill press if u have one

#6 ·
If I put the 350 heads on it would it have to run premium gas and its a bone stock 400 when I got it it didn't have a cam the bottom end is good but I just want it to have some good torque and I dont want the heads to be the thing that holds it back but its going in a 85 Chevy c20 lifted bout 6 inches it deffently shows its age but I got it as a gift and its my project

#10 ·
If the stock pistons are going to be reused, AND if the dish is 24cc like the 400 often used stock, the 64cc chamber size will put the compression ratio (CR) at about 9.6:1 using a 0.040" quench.

But if you want to use 64cc heads, at least go w/Vortecs. The old small chamber SBC heads are ~45-plus y/o and will usually need guides, seats, springs possibly valves, milling, etc. Not worth all that. Or just go w/aftermarket if the budget allows.

#8 ·