400 sbc - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2011, 07:39 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

400 sbc

Im starting to build a 400 sbc and I want to know whats the best build for the buck...i want a very strong street motor...406 or 415...and how much more would it be to build a 427...I'm a beginner so all info would be greatly appreciated

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2011, 11:54 AM
mr mighty mouse

Last journal entry: shes dropped!!
Last photo:

OK first of all let me welcome you to our 'friendly teaching' forum. Were here for hotrodders of all ages and we do welcome anyone. So before anyone gets the wrong idea like i have when i came here for suggestions just letting you know... ok so your wanting a 400 cube sbc? I would do the 400 sbc simply bc i am doing it, and stroking one to a 427 would require professional status build... Clearancing the cam/rod ends. Now the thing about SBC is the heads.
Flow and port velocity ARE major things. Cubes need more air volume ect ect. So we will start on heads. O and the Compression Ratio your wanting is for pump gas since most dont like going to the airport to flip 25 dollar bill for a gallon of gasahol.... 10.1:1 should be the safest on 91, 92 octane with cast iron heads.
So that you know now the 427 or 434 isnt worth it bc you would only have to feed more cubes plus keep the rods from touching the cam every revolution....
Old 11-09-2011, 03:52 PM