400 sbc crank in a 350 block - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2009, 12:33 AM

Last journal entry: Well, about that mustang...
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

400 sbc crank in a 350 block

i have a 350 sbc motor broken down to the short block and im considering swapping crankshafts... i know i can purchase a 400 crank to make it a stroker motor or so ive been told.... what all do i have to change if i swap crankshafts... sorry if this is a rookie question but hey...im a rookie! thanks in advance

Gearhead
"Drive It Like Ya Stole It"

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-27-2009, 12:54 AM
Senior Curmudgeon

Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 326

Cheapest/best way out in my opinion is Scat 9000 series cast STEEL crank. You can buy the unlightened, external balance crank for 189 bucks. Get a 400 balancer/damper for 90 bucks and a 400 flexplate for 40/50 bucks off ebay and you're good.
Here's the crank....
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SCA-910375/
Rebuilt balancer/damper from Damper Doctor...
http://www.damperdoctor.com/Merchant...egory_Code=CHE

This assumes you have a 2-piece seal block and don't want to spend the extra dough to internally balance the rotating assembly.

You have your choice of using stock length 5.7" 350 rods or aftermarket 6" rods, depending on the piston you use. I like the shorter rod because the 6" rod puts the wrist pin up into the oil ring. Maybe no big deal, I just don't like it. I like these rods for a street or mild street/strip motor...they're clearanced to prevent cam lobe interference with a standard base circle diameter cam...
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SCA-25700P/