400 vs. 455 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2003, 12:06 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

400 vs. 455

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie here and this is my first post. I think this site is great and the opinions and answers of some threads are great. You guys really seem to help out everyone. I guess its my turn to ask a question. Any replies will be greatly appreciated.

My son and I have been faithfully working on our 74 gto project car for a while now. We actually have all the performance parts we just need a block. We are trying to chose between the 400 and 455 pontiac. I was wondering if I list the parts and specs we have, if one of you nice fellas could run it through a dyno simulator.

I want to find out the power difference between the two engines. And also the difference in power with E heads vs. our 6X-4 heads.
Ok. so here goes.

-455 block .30 over
and
-400 block .30 over

both w/flattop pistons with 6cc of valve relief
-----------------------------------
Quench dist. on both .45
-Edlebrock heads
87cc chamber
(compression ?)
215 cc intake port
2.11 intake valve, 1.66 exhaust

or
Pontiac 6X-4 heads (ported)
90cc chamber
(compression ?)
200cc intake port
180cc exhaust
2.11 intake valve, 1.66 exhaust

All the rest of the parts will go on either engine-

-Intake is a performer RPM
-Edlebrock 750 carb
-stock Hei ignition

camshaft-comp cams Xtreme energy
installed straight-up
intake-230 @.050 lift
Exhaust-236 @.050 lift
intake lift- .488"
exhaust lift- .491"
1.6 ratio rockers
110 degree lobe separation

Sorry such a long post you guys but i will really appreciate any responses or thoughts on these combos. my son and i will like any input. thanks again!!

Advertisement