406 Small Block Chevy - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2010, 10:25 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

How can I get better throttle response?

Hi my name is Joseph and I have a 406 small block chevy and I was wondering if I could get some advice on how to get better throttle response. I am running a 750 Holley with vacume secondary's and victor jr open plenum manifold, and 210 cc AFR heads. I have 76 size jets in the primary's and 80's in the secondary's. I am runnng I believe a size 28 squirter but not positive. I have the timing set at 32 degrees total. I am new to this and I am trying to learn I have an assortment of cams, squiters, jets, and springs I am loookin for some advice to what I should do to get a better throttle response when I crack the thorrtle.

Thanks

Advertisement

Last edited by 406MOUSE; 04-15-2010 at 11:40 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2010, 03:01 AM
More for Less Racer

What is your specific problem with the throttle response?? Does it stumble?? Cough or backfire?? Just slow acceleration??

What is the initial timing??

What size and type of cam is in the engine??

You may well need a bigger shooter and possibly a bigger pump cam.
Old 04-16-2010, 09:26 AM
Veteran/Firefighter-EMT-I CRT

x2 what cam is in it
Old 04-16-2010, 09:43 AM
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"

Last photo:

If you have a wide overlap cam, you will get a smoother idle but will get a slower response. With a narrow overlapping time cam you will get a quicker respond at a cost of rough idle. A higher compression motor will make it rev quicker.
Your timing is a little low. It should be closer to 38* to 40*.