Hot Rod Forum banner

454 blower set up

9K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  1990k1500 
#1 ·
I have a 1990 chev k1500, 6" Rough Country lift, 35's this summer, recently bought a 454 1ton 1992 Chevy 4x4 for $750, its rotten, but runs like the day it came out if the dealer. I am taking the engine, tranny, rear end, transfer case out of it and putting it in my 1500. My 1500 is clean, no rust, re-painted and under coated(hence why I'm swapping) I have always liked the look and sound of blowers, I've read a bunch of posts about blowing 454's, I was wondering if anyone could help me with the "right" build for my truck, I want it streetable and daily driverable(I know it's not a word) but I can still tow and go mudding occasionally. I also drive this truck in the winter as my primary vehicle in winter. I know with power comes responsibility, and I don't drive stupid. I am a mechanic, but am not familiar with bbc's or blowers(I'm 19) but I have a very good machine shop that my shop deals with, and my father will be helping me along with this. Any and all help will be appreciated, even links to different forums for me to poke around in.

#2 ·
Alright sweet. Thanks alot! Which pistons would you reccomend? I'll go with the Dough Thorley 2.5" headers. And the comp magnum cam(not sure if i can link other sites, but here goes, I appologize if I can't!) ( http://www.compperformancegroupstor...ct_Code=11-404-4&Category_Code=MARKIVCAMHFTBT ), 850 carb (what will I need to do to it?) and the 781 oval port heads. What injectors and fuel pump would you reccomend?

#5 ·
The two things I'd do if I was you, check the crank to see if it's a steel or cast iron ...obviously steel is the way to go, IF your goal is to make serious HP's! The other issue is rod bolts, I'd replace the stock ones with an after the market set that are readily available ...ARP, Milodon, & etc. Stock rod bolts get abit "stretchy" in high RPMs. Good Luck ...BBC are fun!

#9 · (Edited)