454 build need some advice - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2010, 03:56 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

454 build need some advice

Hey everybody I am in the planning phase for my engine build. I am no expert and that's why I have turned to all of you. Well its a 454 with 049 heads I want to keep the stock crank and rods I would like to use a hyd cam with some roller rockers and get some work dones on the heads. Its going into a 72 cutlass with an automatic tranny built for performance applications. It has 342 gears and I will be having a shop do a lot of the work and ill try to be involved as much as I can. I won't be using for the track it will be a street motor and hopefully a nasty one. I want something that I won't have to worry too much about maint but I can have a lot of fun with on the street. Like I said cruise on the weekend and maybe to work on a nice day. I also want a good sounding cam. So any combos you guys have or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-23-2010, 12:52 PM
HR VIOLATION

Last photo:

I think it will be really important for you to set your budget ahead of the build and work backwards off of that. Nothing is worse than running out of money mid-build and waiting a year to pick back up.

re: cam choice - my opinion is that the smartest move you can make is to call the cam help tech line at comp cams and tell them the specifics about your engine/trans/gear etc - they will set you up with the right cam for your combo and you wont be disappointed. Plus, it's a free call

Quote:
Originally Posted by 72olds