454 with Edelbrock top end kit, p/v clearance problems? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2011, 04:43 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

454 with Edelbrock top end kit, p/v clearance problems?

Hello all,

Although I've been following hotrodders.com for years, this is actually my first post here. I'm from Turkey and we're currently rebuilding a 454 (Mark IV) for a friend of mine.

I've been into some SBC work before but I'm not experienced with Big Blocks at all. My friend ordered a BBC top end kit from Edelbrock (#2095) that has RPM oval port heads included and an RPM cam (#7162) that has .560" / .573" lift at valves.

The pistons we have are H426CP's from Sealed Power, kind of small dome around .100 and the block is not decked. With these pistons, standard deck height, .038 compressed gasket thickness and 110 cc combustion chambers, we would be around 9:1 compression and that sounded reasonable for a street engine running on crappy european gas. The octane figures are high over here, advertised as 95 and 97 octanes, but god knows what they would turn up when analyzed within US standards. And for any of you guys complaining about your gas prices being high, we are paying $2.50 per liter here, that makes $9.45 per gallon! Probably the highest price anywhere on the planet

Anyway, We had checked the piston to valve clearance before assembly and found approximately .080 clearance on the intake and .160 on the exhaust valves, without the head gasket. I can't remember for 100% sure because we're never doing our homework right and not taking any notes.