46 Ford sub frame questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2008, 09:27 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

46 Ford sub frame questions

Hi-
This will be my first post beyond the introducing myself. I am just getting started on my latest hot rod project, and my first Ford. I have built a couple of 1950 Chevs, but a local hot rod guy has always bought them from me before I was finished. With two kids in college, the money is hard to say no to; anyway he just bought my last one and I had a little money left over. Came across a super condition 46 2 door Sedan, really a nice piece, for a very fair price. Snapped it up. Here's the rub-

At some point in time, someone pulled the original front end, and replaced it with a drum brake, rear steer, Nova front stub. The install does not appear real sanitary, at least by the quality of the welds and the support bracket fabrication. I have no experience with sub frame swaps. I have a couple of sub frames, pretty complete, in my parts and stuff. One is a 78 Z-28, it's complete and has been rebuilt with all new bushings and ball joints, etc. The other is a mid 70's Monte Carlo, at least that's what I was told when I bought it for the 350/350 that was sitting in it. It's also a front steer disc unit.

My questions are these-

1. If I decide to just use the Nova stub that's in the car, what components will interchange from what I have to upgrade to disc brakes?
2. What kind of clearence issues am I looking at around the exhaust and rear steering?
3. I am concerned about the distance from the box to the firewall- it looks pretty tight, enough that I'm concerned about u-joints and shafts and the corresponding angles that will be invovled.