49-51 Merc, is this for me? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2003, 02:38 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post 49-51 Merc, is this for me?

First off let me say, I've never done anything like this before, so please mind my dumb questions...

Im looking for a new project now that I finished my MGB. I restored the MG, but pretty much to stock with the exception of chrome bumper converstion, so I have never done any true body customizing. (I have jeep suspension/drive train experience)

Im hoping to build a lead sled out of a 49-51 Merc Coupe. Chopped, Channeled and Slammed. Id also like to convert to disc brakes, add in A/C, etc... the whole deal. If possible Id like to do this with parts from the pick and pull.

My plan would be to find a car in restorable condition. I might consider an engine swap to a more common engine like a Chevy 350 so Im not concerned with running condition. (do you folks suggest different?) I would proceed to completely disassemble the car down to the bare chassis and work from there. First restore the frame. Then convert to disc. Then rebuild, paint the engine. Then move on to the body. Id imagine I'm best to get the body structuraly sound before I start cutting into it? I would then customize the body. Then rewire the car. Then I can add in A/C, etc... then interior.

Im still looking at what else id like to do with the car body, id imagine the usuall frenching of lights, etc...

Basicaly I want to know, am I getting in over my head? Is it possible to build a nice rod with some elbow grease and junk yard parts? (I realize you can't build a car entirely from junk yard parts)