4L60E Line Pressure problem (possibly) - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2006, 12:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
4L60E Line Pressure problem (possibly)

I have a 96 Impala SS that the tranny just went out in. I went and got a re-man tranny but it isnt shifting right. I hooked up a snap-on diag. scanner to see if it had any info to my problem and the only thing that I can see is that the tranny line pressure is low. After flushing out the tranny cooler and hooking up an intercepter (its supposed to raise line pressure) the problem still remains. I'm no expert on tranny's by any means but the only other thing that I can think of that is left is the computer, I read somewhere that it controls tranny line pressure. If anyone has any insight to this Thank you in advance.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2006, 03:40 PM
airworld2's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: houston texas
Posts: 583
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
4l60e

try disconnecting tps, this should not only set code for tps but will cause max line pressure.another way to increase line pressure drop pan unplug the pressure solenoid also sets a code. does the trans shift or should I ask slip when all shifts occur? does scanner show shift adapt or codes for low tps volts?
I have seen bad computer in 96 truck that I use as shop truck, it set codes of low tps volts I replaced tps, wires to tps and some other engine component's .at the end only thing that worked was that I replace computer and all problems solved.

does transmission company agree with your guess or have you asked them yet?
__________________
airworld2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2006, 08:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It shifts from 1st to 2nd fine but when it shifts to 3rd is when it slips a little, almost like you are driving a standard shifting gears. The tps voltage is within tolerance from the scanners readings and it shows no codes from the tranny. I told the tranny people what was going on and they just swapped out tranny's for me so this is my second re-man doing the same thing. I'll try your suggestions tomorrow and see if that helps before I go get another computer. Thanks for all of your help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2006, 11:01 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 690
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
4L60E Line Pressure problem {possibly]

Poor line rise problems are some what common with 1996 GM vehicles.

The computer has ground issues. GM has an updated wire harness to address this concern.This harness is cheap and easy to install.

I will post the part # in the morning when I get back to the shop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2006, 04:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You the man...thanks so much for the info. I've been driving my 67 impala SS around for the past week and it's not the most everyday driver friendly. Again, thanks so much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2006, 05:18 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,096
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
some folks simply run a ground wire from the trans to the battery neg post.

If the trans is shifting up and down like it should ( cept for that slippage in 3) I would think there is a good enough ground for the pressure control solenoid to function.


HAs there been an actual pressure gauge installed on the trans? Checking for pressure readings?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2006, 07:05 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 690
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
4L60E Line pressure problem[possibly]

The AC Delco part # is 12167310. This is to correct,in their words,poor internal ground,which causes pressure control solenoid voltage to remain high during heavy throttle acceleration.

If the ground issue is causing your problem this will fix it,but.

Crosley brings up a good point,did you check this with a gauge?

Again this is an easy repair,but if you should need to install this kit and there are no directions with kit please post back and I will post them.Good luck!

Tony, I've run ground wires to computers before to fix ground issues[Isuzu] with success,but this kit has you swapping wires around at computer,probably best to stick with kit,if ground is issue.Dana.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2006, 10:03 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I havent checked it with a guage yet, I've been depending on the snap-on scanner for that. When I go pick up that part I'll get a guage to take before and after readings. You guys have been a big help!!! Thanks a bunch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2006, 06:42 PM
airworld2's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: houston texas
Posts: 583
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
4l60e

opinions are different on this one, guessing at what could be wrong on the net can be tricky, ground trouble would show up in many ways. no pressure raise unplug your harness from tranny see what happens in reverse.

when harness is on ground for pressure solenoid will or should duty cycle (rapid on off) to regulate line pressure. (shift feel)
when you unplug the harness you should get a much firmer shift in reverse, and this will set all the transmission codes. you can not check drive as all shift solenoids are off you get third gear only in drive.

as cosley pointed out if third is the issue, pressure may not be the trouble
we have agreed to disagree on what your trouble maybe but we all want to help.
__________________
airworld2

Last edited by airworld2; 11-14-2006 at 06:13 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2006, 07:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 690
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
4L60E line pressure problem [possibly]

Airworld, you are a true gentleman.

We may not agree,but it is true, we all want to help.

I can't wait to see those pressure readings!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2006, 07:59 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,096
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
the deal here is ;

all of the questions or suggestions can point to / find or fix the problem.

Out here in the dry climate we do not see the corrosion issues the rust belt tranny shops do.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 11:16 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sorry it took me sooo long to post an update, but here is the deal. I went and got a new computer and that jumper wire that Briscoe recommeded and installed them. My old computer was bad, atleast thats what the dealer told me when I brought my car up there to get the new computer flashed. Soon as I got all that going line pressure went up and everything started shifting right. HELL YEA!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-17-2006, 12:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 690
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
4L60E Line Pressure problem[possibly]

Good news Olimpalarider,glad it worked out,just wish you had tried the ground update first,to qualify the true failure.

But your rolling again and thats great!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-20-2006, 02:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After talking with the guys I got the re-man from to make the warrenty valid I had to get a new computer that jumper wire installed. I wish they would have told me the that long time ago when I was troubleshooting and pulling my hair out. But as you said, I'm rolling again and thats all that matter. Again thanks a bunch, you guys were a big help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Small Block Chevy Oil Pressure knizet Engine 25 03-21-2008 04:21 PM
89 Suburban 700R4 Problem JoeB Transmission - Rearend 13 11-06-2006 03:56 PM
*** 383 Sparking Problem 2500 RPM under pressure Houman SS '70 Engine 30 07-19-2005 09:02 PM
Oil pressure problem Tony Simon Engine 10 09-20-2002 10:06 AM
Fuel Pressure Variance slomotion Engine 2 04-02-2002 01:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.