4l65e rebuild - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 09:34 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,152
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 385
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
If the CEL is on, you have hard codes set. Need to scan or try local budget auto parts place may have a basic code reader for use

    Advertisement
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 09:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I did clear the code when I reconnected the battery. Drove the car for some time just now and I am getting the somewhat soft sloppy shift sometimes. I once got a flare in the 3-4 shift but only once. When I say flare I mean the RPM goes up like it istemporarily not in gear and then catches the next gear. Like the band and the 3-4 clutch pack apply are not properly synchronized. Could this be as simple as the solenoid pin travel is too loose. I have read that the tighter the travel the more firm the shift becomes.

Can this sloppy soft shifting harm the 3-4 clutch pack? Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 09:49 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley View Post
If the CEL is on, you have hard codes set. Need to scan or try local budget auto parts place may have a basic code reader for use
the code that had the CEL on was scanned the other day by the tranny shop but they did not reset the code when they scanned it. It was the code that told me the pressure manifold switch was bad.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2013, 10:24 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,152
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 385
Thanked 106 Times in 102 Posts
You need the hard DTC cleared so the system does not try to compensate for it. Some codes affect the system more than other codes

Most basic code readers can clear codes. Even Harbor Freight scanners can do that.

If you have the servo pin length all jacked up = incorrect, that can cause 2-3 shift timing problems. So can incorrect clearance setting in the 3-4 clutch pack
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 02-25-2013, 10:25 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley View Post
You need the hard DTC cleared so the system does not try to compensate for it. Some codes affect the system more than other codes

Most basic code readers can clear codes. Even Harbor Freight scanners can do that.

If you have the servo pin length all jacked up = incorrect, that can cause 2-3 shift timing problems. So can incorrect clearance setting in the 3-4 clutch pack
I know that the vehicle computer has an adaptive learning feature but I am not sure how that is changing things due to the codes that were set and how long it takes to stop trying to compensate for a code that is cleared. I did clear the code which was related to the pressure switch malfunction but I have only driven it one time since it cleared yesterday and it did flare one time. I am going to replace the servo pin with an oem pin and see what the travel looks like and see if that fixes the flare.

Thanks fo rthe help. Jim
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 02-27-2013, 11:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I did install a new OEM servo pin today and I must say that this appears to have made the transmission perfect. It has very little travel. At the bottom of the range 0.075 inches. Thats tight but it is in spec and runs great. I want to thank you for the help in spite of my not being a hotrodder. This place is top notch!

I am thinking about upgrading the servo to a corvette. Im told that it is a good idea for my towing needs as well as for longevity. I do have a wide band in it. Is that thinking right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4l65E Fluid Contamination c65shoebox Transmission - Rearend 1 02-22-2012 07:41 AM
4l65E no 3/4 2005 Escalade c65shoebox Transmission - Rearend 6 02-18-2012 01:38 PM
4L60E/4L65E transimission rebuild white99dime Transmission - Rearend 9 02-12-2012 11:41 AM
4l65e transmisson frink55 Hotrodders' Lounge 1 05-02-2011 11:27 PM
Will a 4L65E be fine behind a ~460hp LT1? McDeuce Transmission - Rearend 2 08-05-2010 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.