Hot Rod Forum banner

50/50 Antifreeze

1K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  kleen56 
#1 ·
With summer arriving, I'm planning on changing out my antifreeze. Any pros or cons to using the premix 50/50 antifreeze versus regular antifreeze? Anyone using WalMart brand?

#5 ·
I use the wal-mart super tech brand all the time and it works great for me. My trucks both take about 4 gallons of antifreeze if engine is all new. I use three 50/50 mix and one regular mix when doing this. You want to have some distilled water mixed in with your antifreeze if your going to use straight and how much is up to you but you at least need some. I used to run straight antifreeze and during the winter time when it was really cold up in ohio it would be like syrup and when I use the above mixture its not as thick looking. I am no expert on this sort of thing.

#6 ·
We are in a pickle at the shop level when repairing these late model cars we have to put the "proper" coolant/Antifreeze in the customers car or warranty's can be void. A 2012 Toyota needs the proper blue (or what ever color, I forget) and so we have to buy the proper coolant. It seems every single make has a different color! We have cabinets full of half empty coolant bottles because of this! It SUCKS, for years you had green coolant and that was all there was to it. Now every damn car has a different color! Now, we know it's all BS and put any coolant in and it would be fine. But the manufacturer is playing hardball and if you bring in your Mercedes with a blown engine for warranty it better have the pale blue coolant in it or you are in trouble! Soooooooo we put the pale blue coolant in it for our customer.

Honda is a 50/50 mix and even the aftermarket is a 50/50 mix! What a racket!

Brian

#10 ·