502 swap - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2004, 01:53 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
502 swap

i was figureing that since older engines don't take much to make them run( air, fuel, spark) that i would be able to bypass having to reprogram. but i will have to get new engine mounts. if any one knows a place to get a decent set without having to sell one of my kidneys on e-bay please let me know. here in the next month or so i will start a journal so that everyone can see how it goes. but i will try without the chip or reprogram and we will see if these computers are as smart as they are supposed to be.

and does any one know what the fuel pressure is supposed to be to that particular engine?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2004, 02:13 PM
Siggy_Freud's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 29
Posts: 2,371
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
What type of induction are you running? What size/type of engine did the induction come off of? If your moving up a decent size in CU.IN and its a Fuel Injected setup you WILL need to reprogram. It might run without it but it will not be efficient and will probably run lean.

Throttle body pressure is normally 8-14 (commonly in the 12-13 range) I believe.

Gm's Multiport setups normally run anywhere from 36-52 pounds.
__________________
Bringing history and technology together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2004, 02:41 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alexandria, IN
Age: 35
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i'm going to run with the stock dual plane(spelling?) intake with a least an 850 cfm carb. one of my instructors told me that should be able to get by having higher fuel pressure by using a pressure regulator in the fuel line. and since the distributor in cetrifigal it should advance the timing on its own. but if any one knows different please let me know, i'm still in the hypothetical(guessing) stage. haha
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.