51 Merc turn signal switch wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 01:06 AM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,128
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
51 Merc turn signal switch wiring

Anyone know the pinout or have a diagram for a 51 Merc turn signal switch? I rebuilt mine, but none of the existing wiring remains so I need help on which terminals get which circuit. I thought I could figure it out with an ohm meter, but I'm not sure I'm getting proper continuity through all the throws.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to curtis73 For This Useful Post:
johnnyrottencrotch (08-26-2013)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 03:30 AM
kruzr's Avatar
street rods forever
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Windsor
Age: 68
Posts: 324
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do a Google for 51 Merc wiring diagram.
There is a site called "vanpeltsales" alot of diagrams there ,cant get site to work here,good luck.

Last edited by kruzr; 05-20-2008 at 04:19 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 04:39 PM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,128
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Tried that and found that site, but no turn signal wiring diagrams.

Anyone else? Thoughts? Been trying for a couple days and can't seem to find it. I thought I had it using a multimeter but its not playing out like it should.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-20-2008, 06:57 PM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 53
Posts: 2,321
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
There is a lot going in in the turn switches

power from the brake switch should flow thru the switch to both of the REAR signal lamps when the swith is in the neutral position.

This will be battery power---available ALL the time

When you are signaling a left turn---the left brake circuit shuts off and power is supplied thru the flasher unit to the left rear lamp AND the front turn.

This will only happen with the key in "RUN" or "ACCY"

Just the opposite will happen when a right turn is signaled.

I don't have a diagram but this is how they work.

You will actually have 2 wires supplying power to the switch---one from the brakes and one from the flasher.

Hope this helps you to figure things out.

Bryan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2008, 12:15 AM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,128
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
It does... thank you. I had figured that all out the long way by disassembling the switch and just plotting continuity between posts, but the problem I was having was that all my logic wasn't playing out in the actual operation of the switch.

BUT.. I figured it out. The switch has the mechanical body and then the "printed" board on the back. I found a crack in the back which allowed the contact board to bend out of the way when I slid the switch to the desired position. I was getting intermittent continuity.

The good news is that I figured it out. The bad news is... I've exhausted about 15 possible sources for replacements and the best I can come up with is an aftermarket turn signal assembly that mounts to the outside of the column. grr. I had a perfect 51 switch and then found out it won't work. I could maybe epoxy the board, but I'm on the shop's dime and I don't think the boss would be happy with trial and error.

Thanks to all... Problem solved... or at least figured out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2008, 01:15 AM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,128
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
In fact...

Since I did figure it out and didn't find it on the web... here is my own diagram.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mercuryturnsignalswitch.JPG
Views:	375
Size:	66.3 KB
ID:	30098  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2008, 02:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: mass
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
re

It occurs to me that Lucas[prince of darkness] made a widget that did what the fancy switch does, and there might be a us version. If you cannot fix the switch properly, you might be able to make use of such a thing. I also don't know how many bulbs are in your taillights, you could re do the bulb receptacle to take a 2 filament bulb and again not have the dual purpose issue
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-21-2008, 03:01 PM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 53
Posts: 2,321
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Is this a cable operated switch???

If it is---could you possibly use a switch for a late 50s, early 60s chevrolet??

If you could make this work--then all you need to do is to move a couple of wires around.

This switch is common and it is also reproduced----I think it may even be in my 64 Chev C-10

just tossing it out for ya
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-22-2008, 01:05 AM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,128
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Its not cable operated. Its a mechanically linked switch that lives under the steering wheel. I have looked at a dizzying array of switches. Even 51 Ford switches are different from the 51 merc.

I'm sure I could make something work, but this is a complete survivor 51 merc. Normally we would do the rod mentality of use-what-works, but since this is a pristine example we have gone to great lengths to pull out the original wiring and solder in new wires in its place. Don't ask me about the fuse panel unless you want a 3-day dissertation.

Fortunately I did find ONE switch and I'm having it shipped, so I can start the soldering process over again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-22-2008, 01:09 AM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,128
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgus
It occurs to me that Lucas[prince of darkness] made a widget that did what the fancy switch does, and there might be a us version. If you cannot fix the switch properly, you might be able to make use of such a thing. I also don't know how many bulbs are in your taillights, you could re do the bulb receptacle to take a 2 filament bulb and again not have the dual purpose issue

It is currently a dual-filament bulb. That's where the problem is. In order for the brakes and turn signals to work properly, the column-mounted switch has to house all of the wiring for the front and rear turn signals as well as the rear brake lights - simultaneously shutting off the right brake light while the right turn signal is on, AND properly distribute the incoming 6v sources to their proper contacts.

It gets complicated
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-22-2008, 06:42 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sterling Heights, Michigan
Posts: 242
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The Lucas relay is a DB 10 brake light/indicator relay. I think part no. 140105 cost about $170 or so. Tom F
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 08:06 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey man, thanks for going the extra mile and putting an illustration together. I just took my column apart yesterday and I was like WTF?!?! it's been a few years since your original post but I appreciate your efforts!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2013, 05:20 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,878
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 90 Times in 83 Posts
I know this post is old....... I have repaired some old boards by using fiberglass resin and some nylon material (like from a umbrella) and laminating the nylon to the back of the board, couple of layers and it's solid, If the contacts needed to pass thru the back, I simply cut slots in the nylon etc.... Little trim work when dry and ended up with a refurbished board
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TURN signal switch Mr.NutCase Electrical 1 09-26-2007 06:27 PM
Brake light switch wiring... 38 special Electrical 10 09-15-2007 06:54 AM
old column mount turn signal whatwouldscoobydo Electrical 16 07-13-2007 08:07 PM
62 chevy truck turn signal truck man Electrical 6 10-11-2006 05:04 AM
Universal turn signal install mbmopar Electrical 2 03-04-2006 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.