55 to 59 chevy truck owners - Page 148 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2011, 01:02 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Hello everyone,
I am a newbie here and have been reading a lot of this forum looking for help. I recently purchased my first project truck. 1955 Chevy 3100 (2nd series). I have pretty much stripped everything off the frame except the cab. Im going to put a Mustang ll IFS with disc brakes on it. I am planning on putting a Chevy 350 motor in it. Anyone here have advice on what transmission I should use. Also in my research I found this stock rearend is 62" in length. I have seen the lists that show rearend lengths but it only goes up to about 1972 model vehicles. Will anything more recent fit? I would like to put wider tires on the rear but dont want to have to tub the bed. Would a 60" work? Thanks in advance for any help. If any of this dosent seem to make sense I apologize, Im new to theis whole scene and am learning as I go. Thanks guys.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	552.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	5.7 KB
ID:	51433   Click image for larger version

Name:	55.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	7.4 KB
ID:	51434  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-08-2011, 06:17 AM

Last photo:

Welcome Firefighter128,

Take a look at my project on pages 119 & 120 it might give you some ideas.

Check out http://www.nolimit.net for your suspension their Wide Ride front end and Fat Bar rear suspension are designed for our trucks and real handling.

The Mustang II stuff is to lite and to narrow for our trucks, same goes for the other guys 4 bar systems.

As for the trans how about a 4L60.