55 Chevy pickup 2nd series - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2012, 10:26 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

55 Chevy pickup 2nd series

I'm just getting started on this site and have a few questions about my project.
I have a 55 Chevy truck that I'm working on and I have removed the cad and bed. I have cleaned up frame and painted it . My next step is getting my 350 set in place with my turbo 350 trans . I'm was wondering if anyone had any In-site on measurements and angle of motor and trans .

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-01-2012, 10:38 AM

Also the motor and trans mount I bought from classic parts.com
Old 04-01-2012, 01:07 PM

Last photo:

At ride ht. tilt the engine trans down until the intake manifold pad for the carb is level, using a level or angle gauge. From front to back, #1 plug should be even with or behind the center of front wheels but not so far back it interferes with the firewall. make sure there is room for the distributor/cap you are goint to use. If, during this exercise, IMO, you find a factory or easy spot to connect things, use it if it's within an inch or so front to back and + or- a degree level.
Old 04-01-2012, 02:40 PM

Last photo:

Do like speedbump said , but you might put the cab back on the frame where it is supposed to be so you have a reference point to where the firewall is. If your truck had a V8 in it stock you might move the motor forward no more than 1 inch to gain more clearance for an HEI distributor if you choose someday. You will also have to cut out the rear motor mount crossmember that the bellhousing mounts sat on. Gene
Old 04-04-2012, 08:17 AM