Hot Rod Forum banner

66 Stang body uneven?

1K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  johnnyr3 
#1 ·
Just got the car running and took her out on the road... couple issues.

1) Seems like tires may be rubbing wheelwell in the rear end when I turn. Would new leaf springs correct this or should I be looking at something else. Rear tires are 255x60x15. These should fit fine, so I don't know what the problem could be.
2) Front of front left tire seems to be a lot closer to the fender than the right side. Is this most likely attributed to a poorly installed fender? Or is there a chance that somehow spacing is off on something? Fron tires are 235x60x15.

Thx.

#2 ·
My brother owns a Mustang but I am not that experienced in them- I would think springs, shocks would help stiffen the rear and keep your tires spced better- as far as front, My old Henry J was WAY off from the factory- they made a lot of stuff individually and could have had it tweaked out from day one... Hopefully there hasn't been damage in the past to have caused your problems. If the wheel alignment is okay- I'd say just try another adjustment of fender. Good luck!

#3 ·
Here are some things to check. The rear end should relatively stay put if pushed side to side. If not look at springs and shackles. Often people put long shackles on the correct for weak rear springs. The shackles allow the rear axle and springs to move side to side. The springs will not likely allow the vehicle to move side to side on their own. The tires rubbing may be from it being too low.