Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Body - Exterior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/body-exterior/)
-   -   67 chevelle body work question (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/67-chevelle-body-work-question-193555.html)

Chevelle427Rat 02-28-2011 09:24 AM

67 chevelle body work question

I'm sanding getting it ready for paint. My question is do I leave all the fenders and doors and trunk lid on it or tear it apart as far as I can then do the body work? My other question is do I paint all the panels off the car then put it together? I'm new to the paint & body work. Its not a show car by any means but I want a good looking car when I'm done. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks. Ivan.

oldschool hero 02-28-2011 10:15 AM

If it's not a show car and just a resto, I would NOT take it apart especially if you are novice.

Chevelle427Rat 02-28-2011 10:27 AM

67 chevelle body work

Sorry I forgot to mention that I'm doing a color change and jamming the car. I already have the front clip off and have to put a drivers door on it. I'm not a hacker and want to do it right so I'm 3/4 of the way from having it all tore apart. I hope that better explains it. Thanks. Ivan.

302 Z28 02-28-2011 07:32 PM

Blow it apart that is the only way you can get to everything especially since your doing a color change. There are few things that look as bad as a beautiful paint job with different color areas.

Vince

Chevelle427Rat 02-28-2011 08:09 PM

That's what I was thinking but wanted another opinion. I'm assuming I'm gonna want to paint all the panels off the car as well then put it back together after paint? Thanks. Ivan.

302 Z28 03-01-2011 06:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chevelle427Rat
That's what I was thinking but wanted another opinion. I'm assuming I'm gonna want to paint all the panels off the car as well then put it back together after paint? Thanks. Ivan.