68 Camaro Starting Problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2003, 04:55 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

68 Camaro Starting Problem

Hi everyone, I'm a new user here so any advice would be great.

I recently bought a 68 Camaro and ever since I got it there have been problems with it starting. When I say that, I mean that when I turn the key it will turn over, but not start, I can sit there all day cranking it. I can't seem to pin point the problem and I'm at my wits end.

I am pretty new to these old cars so bear with me. This is what I have done so far. I got new spark plugs( the gap is correct), new wires, an electronic ignition(I have it to a 12VDC source), a new alarm, and a new battery.

I thought at first it had something to do with the electronic ignition because I had it hook up to the coil, then I found out about the ballast resistor and hook it up to a 12 Volt power source and right after that it started great. Then it started doing it again about four days later. And then what would happen would be that at the same time I would try to start the car the alarm would starting going off.

I took it back to the alarm guy. I saw him messing around with the battery and then it worked pretty good for a day or so. Just last Friday I had it running good, shut it off, started it back up(when it was warm) with no problem. Then three days later when I thought I fixed it, it won't start!