68 Continental - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2012, 11:51 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

68 Continental

Hey guys, i recently was given a 68 Lincoln Continental. Its been sitting for 20+ years. The woman that gave it to me parked it in her yard so it was running fine.
Currently the engine compartment is covered in leaves and has a rats nest.
My question is what would you recommend to get this engine running. I checked the fluids and nothing is dry. The oil is dark, brake fluids dirty, trany smells terrible and p/s is full. Motor has little under 60k, no visible oil leaks.
This is my first project car and i want to make sure its done right.
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6843.JPG
Views:	90
Size:	648.8 KB
ID:	70124   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7143.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	537.4 KB
ID:	70125   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7130.JPG
Views:	55
Size:	554.6 KB
ID:	70126  

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-27-2012, 12:29 PM
Old & Furious

Turn the engine over with a wrench and see if it even turns. Chances are it wont turn over a few times before it gets stuck on a rusted cylinder or valvle.

Change all the fluids and make sure its got plenty of oil take the plugs out and make do a compression check with the starter motor so the oil pressure will come up some.

Rebuild the carb and drop the tank to make sure its free of rust and other trash. Add a fuel filter right beofre the carb and replace the factory one. I like the glass ones for old cars so you can see trash in the filter before it gets clogged up.