70-72 Chevelle Chevelle dash wiring Problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2005, 01:21 AM
I am the Antirice

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

70-72 Chevelle Chevelle dash wiring Problem

Hey, I have been replacing my dash wiring in my 71 chevelle, standard dash. The origonal was hacked beyond repair by previous owner, who knows why, besides the fact he didnt know his rear end from a door knob.

This project went fairly smoothly, since I have plenty of background in computers/networking (career) and Hi Fi audio and security for auto. I'm not afraid to dig into wires.

That is untill it came to the instrument cluster. I think I'm just missng a daughter harness. Everything works fine on the car, hazards, turn signals, brakes, Headlights, horn (if I had a horn and correct steering wheel that is), the door pins work fine, (just got to finish wiring them up). Ignition works fine, just have a few things left over, a couple connectors, one of which looks like a modular plug, one that holds a bulb, it's probably an ash tray light, just havent messed with that part yet, and somthing that has a rubber ball style grommet on it that I think goes to part of the charging system, or a coolant sensor, will have to look at the wiring schematics I have for that.

But the schematics I do have do not say anything about that modular plug, and the only thing that is reasonable to think would be that it is all of the instrument cluster.

I got this harness off ebay, the guy said it came off a 71 chevelle, standard sweep dash, like mine. It doesnt have any cuts or splices or anything on it, it was a very nice harness.