700 R4 tranny - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2006, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coldwater Ohio
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700 R4 tranny

There is a local guy who has a 700r4 mid 80's tansmission for sale.
It was rebuit 10,000 mi ago and has the torque converter with it.
He wants $200 I fill that this is a good price?
Anyway I have a T400 in my 49 chevy pickup now that I want to replace it with. Is the bell housing the same size. I have only 1/4 inch of space
between the tranny and the body now. If the bell housing is
bigger on the 700r4 it won't work.
If I remember i will need to shorten my drive shart too. Is that correct?



Mark.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2006, 05:03 PM
48ChryslerRodder's Avatar
Stuck in the past.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Beloit, Wisconsin
Age: 56
Posts: 141
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have this picture with dimensions for gm transmissions, I hope this can help you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tranny_dimensions.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	15281  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2006, 06:30 PM
Tbucit's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Kinda showing off
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Conyers GA
Posts: 75
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You will need to move your crossmember the 700R4 is about 6 inches shorter. There is a talpiece I am tying to get that gets it closer. The bellhousing area is very close to the 400
Randall
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2006, 10:59 PM
68novafan's Avatar
Ford Fan At Heart
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ohio
Age: 26
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
isnt the 700r4 computer controlled? and youll need to make previsions for the TV cable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coldwater Ohio
Posts: 146
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I think they made 2 different length on the tail end of the 400 I have the shorter one. According to the guy i am buying this off, the 700 R4 is 2 inches shorter than my 400 with the short tail stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2006, 06:44 PM
Tbucit's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Kinda showing off
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Conyers GA
Posts: 75
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The guy is wrong look at the dimensions of the earlier post there is almost 6 inches different. The mount is on the main body of the 700R4. There is a different tail peice that will get you closer. And no the 700R4 is not computer controlled but the 4L60E is. It does use a lock up convertor
Randall
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2006, 09:44 AM
LordMaximo's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Painting
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Roy, UT
Age: 55
Posts: 95
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You should get the fly-wheel, torque converter, cable setup, all with the transmission. This is a combination package and should not be seperated unless you already have the acessories. Ther is an after market device you will need to acquire for the transmission to work properly, it works off the speed sensor to engage the proper OD shifting point for locking up the transmission. Check out; http://www.ronfrincis.com for the lock up kit.
Takes less then an hour to install, less then $200.00, but worth it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700 R4 won't shift all gm Transmission - Rearend 7 01-08-2007 05:32 PM
700 r4 question mychevystang Transmission - Rearend 5 12-06-2004 06:09 AM
truck 700 R4 computer controlled?? Ridr Transmission - Rearend 2 07-09-2003 04:53 PM
700 r4 tranny lumpie Transmission - Rearend 1 03-19-2003 04:45 PM
700 r4 vs 400 turbo? WBhunter Transmission - Rearend 3 04-23-2002 08:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.