700r4 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2012, 05:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4

need some help here I've put in an 85 700r4 into my 86 chevy 1/2 ton that had a turbo 400 in it. the 700r4 came out of a 86 1/2 ton i managed to take the tv cable and wiring out of the truck for the tranny which only had two wires one blue that went to brake switch and a green wire that was just hanging there because the motor was gone already.I've put the tranny in hooked the blue wire to the orange one that was for the 400 in my truck and the vaccum line to the carb and grounded the green one. I'm thinking this can't be right because the torque converter isn't locking in forth so my question is what is the green wire for and sould that vac line be hooked to the carb or intake thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2012, 09:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
dont matter about the vacume line check to make sure you dont have any slack in the TV cable At WoT any slack in it and the pressures will be wrong does it shift at low or high RPM?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2012, 01:43 AM
blwn31's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Placerville,CA
Posts: 172
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
As far as I know the 700 doesn't require any vacuum signals. Also, isn't the T400 an electric kickdown? If so, the wires in your truck probably won't be correct for the lock-up 700. You will have find out how the lock-up is wire inside your transmission and wire the truck and transmission plug accordingly.

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2012, 09:10 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
seems to shift fine and there is no slack in the t.v. cable at wot.when i did take the pan off there is a singal wire that goes to the solenoid so thats a self grounding one. There is only two wires that came in the plug with this tranny one (blue) was for the brake switch it was orange for the t400 as for the green one I did put 12v power to it and now it seems like its locking in third goes to forth not a bad shift and its doing 2300 rpm at 60mph with 4:10 rear, Before when there was no power it was like 2700 rpm. The wires do run through a vaccum switch, this switch should only allow power through when there is enough vaccum, correct so if its letting power through all the time then that switch is nfg, does the 700 only need power to lock up? Maybe i'll put the power on a toggle switch let it get to forth then flick the switch and see if it locks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2012, 02:45 AM
blwn31's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Placerville,CA
Posts: 172
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
The 700 only needs 12v and ground to lock up. I don't like using a manual lock up switch. The main reason, if you forget to turn the switch off, the transmission will stay locked up even when you are trying to come to a stop. Could be a dangerous situation. I have mine set up the lock up when the trans shifts into 4th gear, via a pressure switch sensing 4th gear hydraulic pressure. When the pressure switch senses pressure, it closes and ports 12v to ground locking the convertor. I will say I do have the option of manually locking the converter, but I haven't hooked that circuit up yet, and probably won't.

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing a 2.8/700r4, Install V-8 with 700r4 1230firebird Transmission - Rearend 4 09-17-2007 06:17 PM
700r4 87 camaro Transmission - Rearend 2 02-21-2006 06:29 PM
What are the parts in a 700R4 2-3 TransGo shift kit 700R4 2-3 AngliaBob Transmission - Rearend 3 04-24-2005 12:25 AM
700r4 74huggerorange Transmission - Rearend 1 04-04-2003 07:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.