700R4/4L60/4L60E (long) - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2004, 12:19 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

700R4/4L60/4L60E (long)

This is a very lengthy post and I apologize in advance. I respect the opinions of the hotrodders and tranny guys here who take the time to answer a novice’s questions. I am an old hotrodder in both senses (age, and technology) but, I do like some of the high tech stuff. Exmaple: GM's EFI and electronic trannys, the 4L60E to be specific. I have researched this board and many other boards for the last 8 months or so, and I have come to one conclusion NO ONE can agree on how to build, (what parts to use) a solid street, occasional strip tranny that will also be used for towing. I am a novice at building trannys, and I think I may have overdone it, but here is my scenario: a 3500lb vehicle with an mild EFI engine (350hp, 350lb/ft) through a 4L60E to a 12-bolt rearend.

Here is a parts list going into the 93 - 4L60E tranny.

Super Master Rebuild Kit
- Borg Warner Reverse Clutches and Raybestos Steels
- Borg Warner Forward Clutches and Overrun Clutches, all with Raybestos Steels
- Borg Warner "Hi-Energy" 2-4 band
* - Borg Warner 3/4 "High Energy" Clutches
- Borg Warner Lo-Reverse Clutches and Raybestos Steels
- Viton input-output shaft seal
- "Vette" style servo
- Teflon coated pump bushing
- All papers,gaskets,o-rings,etc
- Pan gasket
- Filter

* - Raybestos X-32 single sided 3/4 clutches (Z-Pack)

TransGo Shift kit (TG-4L60E-HD2)
- .500 4L60E specific boost valve
- many other pieces

TransGo HiRev Pump Kit
- unbreakable rings
- pump priming spring

Other Pump Stuff
Pump Slide (10 vane)
New pump vanes (10)
Pump Rotor (10 vane)
Rotor Guide (10 vane)
Hardened Stator shaft