700R4 Converter ALWAYS Locked Up - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 01:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Townsend
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700R4 Converter ALWAYS Locked Up

I just put a good lockup torque converter in my truck (came out of my brothers transmission with 50 miles on it).The one I took out never locked up. This one is locked up in ALL gears (1,2,3,4,R). I thought it couldn't lock up in 1 and R. When you put it in gear it kills it. I can put it gear and then start it and it goes fine but you can't stop it without killing the motor (or shifting to N).

The Transmission is in my '72 GMC truck so it has no wires going to the plugin on the side of the transmission.

Any Ideas?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 04:07 PM
Overdriv's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: IL
Age: 64
Posts: 740
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Your lockup wiring is not correct or you have a defective converter.

When you installed the converter, did you have to pull the converter to the flywheel 1/4" or so to bolt it together?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 04:18 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Either the TCC/TorqueConverterClutch is damaged in the TC/TorqueConverter or the TCC Apply Valve in the Pump is stuck in Lockup position.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 04:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Townsend
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overdriv
Your lockup wiring is not correct or you have a defective converter.

When you installed the converter, did you have to pull the converter to the flywheel 1/4" or so to bolt it together?

I have no wiring. My brother has a 700R4 in a '71 Ford and has no wiring. It works just fine.

I had a small gap when I bolted them together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 05:11 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1972RedNeck
( This one is locked up in ALL gears (1,2,3,4,R).Any Ideas?
Thats wierd. I couldn't do that with a manual lock up switch if that tells you anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:24 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Townsend
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sqzbox
Thats wierd. I couldn't do that with a manual lock up switch if that tells you anything.
The transmission isn't supposed to be able lock up in 1 & R.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 06:45 PM
Overdriv's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: IL
Age: 64
Posts: 740
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Let's see, no wiring, other converter would never lock-up (normal).

No wiring, different converter, locked all the time, (not normal).

If that was the only change you did, it seems pretty cut-n-dried to me.

Why did you change the converter in the first place?

There has to be external wiring for the TCC to lock on a 700R4 unless it has been modified to hydraulically lock in OD.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 08:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Townsend
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overdriv
Let's see, no wiring, other converter would never lock-up (normal).

No wiring, different converter, locked all the time, (not normal).

If that was the only change you did, it seems pretty cut-n-dried to me.

Why did you change the converter in the first place?

There has to be external wiring for the TCC to lock on a 700R4 unless it has been modified to hydraulically lock in OD.

I changed the TC for a higher stall. Is there any way to tell if the transmission has been modified for hydraulic lock up on the outside (line pressures)?

I had (have) a lock up switch. It doesn't do anything with either TC.

Last edited by 1972RedNeck; 07-13-2011 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-13-2011, 09:21 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,064
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 317
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
here are my thoughts if you wish to read them:

first converter never locked up.

you changed the converter to stall speed - lock up converter. Now the the engine is stalled (killed) when the trans is shifted to any gear.

This tells me the trans pump has been modified for non lock up operation. That explains the first converter never locking up.. and the converter was modified for non lock up operation. Pump and converter must match, if one is modified, the other needs to be.

When a pump is modified for Non lockup, the oil flow direction into the converter is changed. So , now when you start the engine the converter clutch is applied.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-14-2011, 12:45 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Yep^^^, forgot about that one. TB.com member had the same problem with a 2004R. Pump was modded for Non-Lockup TC & He installed a Lockup TC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2011, 07:12 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Townsend
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I just pulled my pan off. There is no solenoid or wiring harness. Does the TCC Valve have to be up or down to be locked up? What would be different inside the pump if it was converted to non lock up operation?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-15-2011, 04:35 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,064
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 317
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1972RedNeck
I just pulled my pan off. There is no solenoid or wiring harness. Does the TCC Valve have to be up or down to be locked up? What would be different inside the pump if it was converted to non lock up operation?

Some folks block the lock up valve ''in'' , some block the valve ''in'' and modify the oil passages for better flow with non lock up converter (preferred method)

Some folks buy a transGo kit that replaces the lock up valve and springs completely (best method in my opinion)

I would remove the inner snap ring on the lock valve bore in the pump and see if anything falls out... go from there.


__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Locked up 350---torque converter bolts vetteman2 Engine 2 03-26-2011 07:23 PM
4l60e torque converter locked acdcontheroad Transmission - Rearend 2 09-14-2010 07:35 PM
torque converter locked up acdcontheroad Transmission - Rearend 5 07-18-2010 06:26 PM
700R4 - RPM with TCC Locked vs Unlocked? ezobens Transmission - Rearend 7 08-24-2008 06:32 PM
turbo 350 torque converter locked up biggy72 Transmission - Rearend 20 06-08-2008 11:14 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.