700r4 converter to flexplate clearance questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 08:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pennsauken
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 converter to flexplate clearance questions

ive looked all over for someone to give me some insite so i am trying all of the hot rodding websites i can find hopefully someone can help me here i just installed a new motor in my 86 iroc z28 the motor came used out of an 85 gmc seirra same block with just a few differences the 86 had a 1 piece rear main seal and the 85 has a 2 so the flex plate is a little different so i bought a new flex plate i now have about a half an ince gap between the flex plate and the torque converter can someone offer some suggestions on what i can do to fix the problem i still have the stock 86 700r4 with the stock torque converter anyone who might be able 2 help please do from what i understand the 85 should have had a 27 spline output on the transmission and the 86 has a 30 but its the same block so everyone is telling me that it should have directly bolted up

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2007, 09:13 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,063
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 317
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1986irocz28
ive looked all over for someone to give me some insite so i am trying all of the hot rodding websites i can find hopefully someone can help me here.

i just installed a new motor in my 86 iroc z28.. the motor came used out of an 85 gmc seirra same block with just a few differences, the 86 had a 1 piece rear main seal and the 85 has a 2 so the flex plate is a little different... so i bought a new flex plate.

i now have about a half an ince gap between the flex plate and the torque converter... can someone offer some suggestions on what i can do to fix the problem?

i still have the stock 86 700r4 with the stock torque converter anyone who might be able 2 help please do from what i understand the 85 should have had a 27 spline output on the transmission and the 86 has a 30 but its the same block so everyone is telling me that it should have directly bolted up
I edited the thread title so the members would know what your question is about.

Input shafts splines were 27 till the 1985 year of the 700r4..... then the 30 spline count was used. They do bolt up the same to engines.

I suspect you have installed the flex plate backwards IF you have a 1/2 inch clearance gap as you describe....



__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque converter drain plug 700r4 blacklabzeke Transmission - Rearend 2 03-21-2007 08:22 AM
Problems bolting TCI Converter to TCI Flexplate Ghetto Jet Transmission - Rearend 2 06-19-2004 08:48 PM
Catalytic Converter Questions ChrisMiddleron Engine 2 02-15-2004 06:30 PM
cam and stall converter questions dk01_99 Engine 10 01-03-2003 10:57 PM
700r4 questions please help av8300zx Transmission - Rearend 2 06-09-2002 09:24 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.