700r4 gap of flex plate to converter? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2017, 01:12 PM
arnoldsel's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Liberty MO
Posts: 157
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
700r4 gap of flex plate to converter?

Reading a watched a video on installs of the torque converter. I have a 700R4. Installed it with new Converter and I bought the thicker Scat Flex plate.

They show that you need 3/16" space between. What if you have less like 1/8" or slightly less. I cannot get my fingers between the back of the converter and the trans making sure the converter is seated into the pump. I am thinking since I did put in the thicker Flex plate that has tightened the gap?

Will this be OK? I could turn the converter with my had easily and that is suppose to mean it is seat. Just a tighter gap.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2017, 05:10 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 50
Posts: 13,250
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 140
Thanked 1,752 Times in 1,486 Posts
If you've got at least 1/16" of gap you've got enough clearance to be okay, when there is zero clearance is when you've got a problem.

I have never liked that 3/16" of free space figure that is thrown around, to me it puts you dangerously close to the two pump drive lugs pulling free of the drive tangs on the gear....I always shim my converter to flexplate bolt locations to get the clearance down to 1/8" or less.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flex plate Weight hitting Block Plate jdwest711 Engine 0 11-06-2015 11:24 PM
Flex plate/Torque converter dilligaf Transmission - Rearend 0 12-15-2011 11:14 AM
flex plate & torque converter gt43 Transmission - Rearend 2 01-12-2010 06:25 PM
Flex Plate Holes Dont Match Torque Converter mightycarlo10 Transmission - Rearend 3 03-07-2008 06:37 PM
700r4 torque converter to flex plate question BR57 Transmission - Rearend 6 10-05-2004 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.