700r4 lockup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:04 PM
'83 Silverado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Va
Age: 26
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 lockup

I recently posted about my 1983 Silverado with the 700r4 transmission, I have since replaced the TV cable and it has greatly improved the way the vehicle shifts. My next issue is wiring the Lockup to where it will work, I have checked out the Painless wiring kit, summit racing kit, and the B&M Kit all on Summits site and I kind of like the B&M because it provides a dash mounted control unit. None of my original wiring is there, it was like this when i brought it home. So instead of going through the trouble of finding all the original parts, I want to simply wire the thing so it will work and not kill my trans... All opinions and info is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:09 PM
'83 Silverado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Va
Age: 26
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
out of complete ignorance, i need to ask what exactly does a servo do and what effect would a performance servo have on a four wheel drive truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:35 PM
hemi joe's Avatar
loves ex cop cars
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: west deptford nj
Age: 52
Posts: 366
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
hey,where in his post did he say servo and where did it say 4x4
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:49 PM
rachet ralph's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2008
Location: cliftonpark, new york
Age: 53
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you can use

i know the 1984 to 86 chevy trucks had some the parts you need to use factroy stuff to make your lock up work! i'll have to see i find the site show you how and what you need! http://www.73-78.com/7387garage/drivetrain/lockup.htp should help you out!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:54 PM
'83 Silverado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Va
Age: 26
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the truck is a four wheel drive, and I would like to know what the servo is supposed to do... Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2009, 07:58 PM
rachet ralph's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2008
Location: cliftonpark, new york
Age: 53
Posts: 147
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
wheres this servo located at on the truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2009, 03:22 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahamilton87
the truck is a four wheel drive, and I would like to know what the servo is supposed to do... Thanks
If you're talking about trans Servos.>>>>>>>
http://www.sonnax.com/announcements/77911-03K.pdf
http://www.sonnax.com/announcements/77767K.pdf
http://www.sonnax.com/part_finder.ph...&show_only_sc=
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2009, 05:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 612
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have a TCI kit sitting here on my desk. I was going to install it but decided to take another route.

****************************************

http://summitracing.com/parts/TCI-376600/

I'm going the stock route and controlling it with the ECU, so I don't need the kit. I was going to send it back anyway.

Last edited by Crosley; 06-16-2009 at 07:05 PM. Reason: Advertising. Please see: commercial posting guidelines.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2009, 05:48 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bastrop, Tx
Posts: 212
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have the B&M unit on my truck/700r4. I really like it...it allows you to dial in any mph that you want it to lock up or you can turn the thing completely off. I do have a mechanical speedometer cable and that is what it requires. easy installation.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2009, 12:20 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
I have a B&M Kit, I & everyone I've talked to with the B&M kit like it as Fergusonic said. It's adjustable and can be turned off for in town driving. There's 1 on Evilbay for a good price.
Todd

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/68-69...1%7C240%3A1318
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 tcc lockup theory supercoop Transmission - Rearend 3 02-01-2009 05:16 PM
700r4 Lockup lelshaddai Transmission - Rearend 11 08-04-2008 01:23 PM
700r4 lockup confusion SeattlesBestCustoms Electrical 3 06-18-2008 01:49 AM
700r4 lockup engaged directly after shift into second?? ferociousd Transmission - Rearend 3 07-22-2007 09:32 PM
700r4 lockup? holoffs Transmission - Rearend 5 05-15-2007 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.