700r4 lockup confusion - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2008, 12:05 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 lockup confusion

I know there are many posts on 700r4 lockup wiring, but most dont explain if wiring inside needs to be changed with the schematics I am finding. Here is my setup, 1987 s10 blazer with carbed 350 and 1990 700r4 from a 1990 1500, here is my problem, from what I can see in any schematic I find about lockup wiring, terminal a is 12 volts and b and d ground out to either lock 4th or 2, 3, 4, I have a normally closed brake switch (no power with brake applied) feeding the tcc 12v to terminal a when I ground terminal b no problems but when I ground terminal d it blows my fuse for guages and brake switch. I know I should probably pull the pan and check it out, but it was working fine with a tbi unit that was recently removed.

Any ideas?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2008, 01:02 AM
C-10's Avatar
Revolution Calling
 

Last journal entry: Poverty caps live on.
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashport, Ohio
Posts: 920
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Front outer terminal +12v switched
Rear outer terminal can be grounded if you desire lockup in 2, 3, as well as 4.

Switch must be a normally open (pic) It grounds upon 4th gear pressure, thus closing the circuit for the....

TCC solenoid (pic) measures 20 ohms at the solenoid +/- a few ohms

Your TCC solenoid could be stuck open and/ or shorted.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sw.JPG
Views:	439
Size:	181.4 KB
ID:	30707   Click image for larger version

Name:	sol.JPG
Views:	797
Size:	181.2 KB
ID:	30708  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2008, 01:31 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Should the inner terminal be grounded as well or is this related to the self grounding switch I have read about and therefore be unnecessary? I will be wiring a switch and would like to be able to switch between 2 3 4, 4 and off, Also is it possible to test the solenoid through the external plug or am I stuck removing pan? Sounds like the solenoid is a good possibilty.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2008, 01:49 AM
C-10's Avatar
Revolution Calling
 

Last journal entry: Poverty caps live on.
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashport, Ohio
Posts: 920
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
You can test the solenoid with +12v at the front outer terminal. You should be able to hear it click.

The outer two terminals are the only ones you need for the way you want to configure your lockup.

You can check solenoid resistance at the case plug too, it should have more than 20 ohms (25?) due to the extra wire and connections.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 manual lockup switch Boosted89RS Transmission - Rearend 8 03-25-2008 10:52 AM
700r4 lockup engaged directly after shift into second?? ferociousd Transmission - Rearend 3 07-22-2007 09:32 PM
700r4 lockup? holoffs Transmission - Rearend 5 05-15-2007 01:07 PM
700r4 or 350 lockup oldschool Transmission - Rearend 2 01-09-2006 04:25 PM
700R4 non lockup Jagwar Transmission - Rearend 0 04-12-2004 10:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.