700r4 , lockup converter electrical questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2010, 03:41 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 , lockup converter electrical questions

I am swapping from a TH350 to a 700r4 and have read most of the 700r4 tech I could possibly read. My driveshaft snapped in half and destroyed the TH350 bellhousing and a section of my flooring. Lesson learned...use a driveshaft safety loop.

The 700r4 I have is from 1985 and does not have the auxiliary valve body. I have spent 850$ in getting it fully rebuilt. I wanted to keep the lockup and this trans was owned by 2 different guys prior to me getting it. Here are the parts in it:

-Full rebuild kit (3-4 gear uses 6 clutches)
-Kevlar band
-13 vein pump
-Corvette Servo
-New lockup solenoid
-New Reverse input drum
-"Beast" Sunshell
-.500 input boost valve with larger output valve
-Transgo shift kit
-New TV cable

My question is dealing with the wiring itself. I was reading installation instructions for the painless wiring kit (http://www.painlesswiring.com/Manuals/60109.pdf). What confuses me is that I don't have the 4th gear pressure switch or any wiring by the servo. The only wiring I have in the pan is going from the lockup solenoid to the factory plug.

So is the 4th gear pressure switch necessary? Am I missing anything, as far as you can see by the pics, that is a necessity for the electrical system that is paramount to operating this transmission? Is it possible to put in an auxiliary valve body and are there any benefits or will I be fine with what I have?

My plan was to route the 12v source wire from the transmission up to the brake pedal then to the toggle switch. But looking at painless wiring, there is a vacuum operated switch as well which threw a wrench into my thought process.




    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-25-2010, 09:47 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,185
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 421
Thanked 108 Times in 104 Posts


not sure this helps,

the pressure switch commonly used is a N-Open self grounding switch. Ground wire from solenoid is wired to switch. lock up of the converter in 4th gear only when switch is located in v-body hole near acculilator .

your method of wire you can control lockup in most gears as desired.

I never see a need for vacuum switch in the hook ups. Wire through brake lite switch is fine... a common brake lite switch with dual poles for crusie control works well
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 Torque converter lockup coming on and off chevy_c10 Transmission - Rearend 4 05-04-2010 08:43 PM
700r4 Lockup ? steven_1104235 Transmission - Rearend 3 03-29-2010 05:42 AM
700R4 into 1956 Dodge questions jsrail Transmission - Rearend 5 02-19-2010 10:32 PM
700r4 lockup runn141 Transmission - Rearend 3 09-06-2006 07:40 AM
Torque Converter Lockup at Low Speeds JohnTN Transmission - Rearend 5 09-15-2005 07:05 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.