700R4 lockup converter help needed - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2008, 12:01 PM
Augusto's Avatar
From the middle of the world
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ecuador, South America
Age: 51
Posts: 1,312
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
700R4 lockup converter help needed

I'm making a custon installation of a 700R4 and need to know what should I do with the lockup converter?

can I wire a switch to connect and disconnect at will?

is it worth doing so?

can I just ignore it?

will it help improve millage?

is the solenoid 12V?

I know that if I forget to switch it off the motor will stall if I stop, but will the tranny change gears with the converter locked or it must be disconected for it to work smoothly, switch it on on the highway only?

what if I switch it on on first gear while accelerating?

sorry too many questions but I need too many answers.

thanks in advance.

Augusto.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:18 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,099
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Augusto
I'm making a custon installation of a 700R4 and need to know what should I do with the lockup converter?

can I wire a switch to connect and disconnect at will?

is it worth doing so?

can I just ignore it?

will it help improve millage?

is the solenoid 12V?

I know that if I forget to switch it off the motor will stall if I stop, but will the tranny change gears with the converter locked or it must be disconected for it to work smoothly, switch it on on the highway only?

what if I switch it on on first gear while accelerating?

sorry too many questions but I need too many answers.

thanks in advance.

Augusto.

700 trans will not lock up the converter inn first gear.... no oil pressure is provided for that.'

solenoid is 12 volts.

converter needs to be locked up in over drive to avoid over heating the trans.

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:24 PM
justold's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: South Jersey
Age: 66
Posts: 192
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
You can wire it through the brake light switch with a relay so when the brakes are applied you drop power to the trans .
The trans will will work on its own ,when it comes to temperature it will lock up when it goes into 3rd gear and unlock when you apply the brakes .I don't have a wiring diagram but if memory serves me right you run the hot + to the trans and switch the ground - I beleave there is a thread about this on this site . Hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 lockup engaged directly after shift into second?? ferociousd Transmission - Rearend 3 07-22-2007 09:32 PM
700r4 or 350 lockup oldschool Transmission - Rearend 2 01-09-2006 04:25 PM
Torque Converter Lockup at Low Speeds JohnTN Transmission - Rearend 5 09-15-2005 06:05 PM
raising torque converter lockup hueysrod Transmission - Rearend 11 06-10-2005 09:26 PM
700R4 with slipping converter clutch CleviteKid Transmission - Rearend 1 08-28-2004 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.