700r4 not shifting to overdrive - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2013, 05:54 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
700r4 not shifting to overdrive

I have a carbed sbc350 with a 700r4 in my rod. Been driving around now about 60 miles or so working out all the issues. I installed the kickdown cable and hopefully did it correct. When driving I noticed that it wont shift into fourth. The rest of them shift pretty good, a little rough compared to modern transmissions but I am guessing acceptable. Any ideas what is wrong. Will I kill the trans if I continue driving it without overdrive? Does the kickdown cable only affect the downshift? Is the overdrive an electric thing or a mechanical thing linked to the kick down cable?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2013, 07:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It is actually a TV cable, or throttle valve cable, that controls the valve assembly. It is very different than a kick down cable . It is very important this set up right, if not you'll smoke the transmission very quickly. It sounds like your lock up is not hooked up correctly. Most lock ups are actuated with a break switch, vacuum switch, or combo of both. On side note it is o.k. to drive it with out the lock up hooked up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2013, 07:22 AM
jokerZ71's Avatar
Wrench Turner
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Stanton,Tn.
Age: 52
Posts: 2,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 160
Thanked 367 Times in 327 Posts
That is not a kickdown cable.It is the TV(throttlevalve) cable & it controls how & when it shifts.If not properly adjusted,you can destroy the transmission.It won't hurt it driving in D rather than OD.You should never use OD pulling,hauling a heavy load,or,in hilly terrain where the trans is constantly shifting between D & OD to maintain speed.The TV cable MUST be adjusted properly befor trans will shift correctly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2013, 07:48 AM
Roger Mabry's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Glendora, CA
Age: 70
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Check out Bowtie Overdrives site..

You have to fix it quickly - the TV cable adjustment...should be adjusted with a pressure gauge.

Look at Bow Ties site for the "proper" way to adjust it...sounds like you have a 200R trans without an automatic OD lockup. It can easily be
added...same site.

They are great people and will help you, call them or look at the video of EZ TV adjustment. I have their kit on my car and it works perfectly...smooth
shifts by way....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2013, 07:57 AM
jokerZ71's Avatar
Wrench Turner
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Stanton,Tn.
Age: 52
Posts: 2,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 160
Thanked 367 Times in 327 Posts
I know the question may be silly,but,it has happened.You did install a proper lockup type converter????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2013, 08:03 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I think i hooked up the tv cable correctly. I remember going through hell adjusting it at the carb. as far as the plug for the lock up is concerned, there is nothing there. Do i need to buy one and where do i hook it up. I imagine it comes with some sort of screw in type switch like a hydrolic brake light switch. Sorry not very familiar with this stuff.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2013, 08:19 AM
jokerZ71's Avatar
Wrench Turner
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Stanton,Tn.
Age: 52
Posts: 2,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 160
Thanked 367 Times in 327 Posts
The plug should be along with the harness from the trans.If your vehicle is not already equipped for lockup operation,you may have to wire into the proper circuits.Maybe someone else can give you more info about how to do it,or,get around it.I don't think you will be able to get OD without it tho.Again,I'm not sure about.There may be a way to bypass the circuit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2013, 12:37 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2012
Age: 29
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
It should go into 4th gear without the lock up hooked up. Each time I had a tranny that didn't shift into 4th it was either the tv cable was not set correctly or just slightly low on fluid, just a quart or two low with cause this. You did top off the fluid with it idling in park right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2013, 05:28 PM
jokerZ71's Avatar
Wrench Turner
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Stanton,Tn.
Age: 52
Posts: 2,206
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 160
Thanked 367 Times in 327 Posts
Low line pressure,a bad TC,low fluid,high fluid could all cause no shift to OD.Ckn fluid can be tricky on these things.Be sure you have drove far enuff that trans is up to normal operating temp.Place selector in ea gear for a few seconds then ck it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Tags
700r4, overdrive

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 overdrive? rick gray Transmission - Rearend 1 01-11-2013 08:40 PM
700r4 vs overdrive bostonrpm Transmission - Rearend 5 05-03-2008 06:16 PM
700R4 No Overdrive ranlom18 Transmission - Rearend 1 10-29-2007 06:36 PM
Overdrive in 700r4 av8r Transmission - Rearend 2 08-04-2007 07:59 PM
700r4 no overdrive wwhijr Transmission - Rearend 4 06-07-2005 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.