700r4 speedo meter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2012, 07:27 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Brake lines done
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Beebe, Ar.
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 speedo meter

I have a 700r4 and just learned that there is a electronic sender for the speedometer. How do you install one of these units in the trany. I'm guessing they are expensive. Also can I find a cable for a original speedo out of my 48 F1 to the 700r4???

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2012, 08:11 PM
rick 427's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: The Cheetah
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
assuming its not an electronic trans...you can get an earlier ''screw in cable'' type 700 housing,gear,and hold down clip and swap out the electronic set up thats in there now,again,assuming there is a plastic speedo gear on the electric housing,and not a magnetic pick-up....as for the cable,one from a 48-56 ford 4 speed I believe will work in the dash speedo and trans end.

Last edited by rick 427; 02-18-2012 at 08:17 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2012, 08:45 PM
rick 427's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: The Cheetah
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Is it a steel gear on the output shaft??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-18-2012, 09:54 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,130
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 355
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlin2
I have a 700r4 and just learned that there is a electronic sender for the speedometer. How do you install one of these units in the trany. I'm guessing they are expensive. Also can I find a cable for a original speedo out of my 48 F1 to the 700r4???
First photo shows a round metal disc (on left) that may be on your output shaft. Is that what you have or not?





Second photo shows speed-O parts needed to convert from eleectronic speed-O to mechanical if that is what you ask. Speed-O parts need to match your application , there are some minor differences.



__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2012, 08:38 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Brake lines done
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Beebe, Ar.
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mechanical speedo

Hey Thanks for responding, my 700r4 has the set up of your second pic. So what do I get to make it a electronic sender. Is there a attached unit that goes on top of the existing mechanical.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2012, 09:12 AM
rick 427's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: The Cheetah
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
ok...ya lost me ...i thought you wanted a cable type,so you can use your 48 speedometer,and if thats the case,use your existing set-up in the trans ,with the cable I mentioned,and your 48 speedometer will work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2012, 09:14 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,130
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 355
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlin2
Hey Thanks for responding, my 700r4 has the set up of your second pic. So what do I get to make it a electronic sender. Is there a attached unit that goes on top of the existing mechanical.

Here is a link to Jags that run ... they offer various speed sensors for cable operated stuff.

Or , you can install the electronic speedo meter stuff in first photo of my other post.

You will need to know what pulse rate for your application / year of vehicle. If you are using aftermarket guages, you need to knoww what those gauges operate on for pulses per mile

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2012, 09:28 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Brake lines done
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Beebe, Ar.
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
48 F1 speedo

Hey thanks Rick, I'll go with the cable. I was looking at some third market gauges and found they sell mech. and elctronic. thanks fo the info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2012, 05:48 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
First photo shows a round metal disc (on left) that may be on your output shaft. Is that what you have or not?





Second photo shows speed-O parts needed to convert from eleectronic speed-O to mechanical if that is what you ask. Speed-O parts need to match your application , there are some minor differences.



Guys I hate to jump in here but I need to fix my speedo mine is electronic the one in the first pic and I need the cable setup .I'm running 3.73 and 25.6 tires
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:35 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks for the pics crosley posted I have one been hear in the shop the whole time now I just need to figure out the tooth count
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:04 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Brake lines done
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Beebe, Ar.
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rick

Hey rick, you are correcto on the f5 cable, found one on e-bay for 19.95.
fits fine on the 700r4.. solved one of the many problems on my truck. thankx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:39 PM
rick 427's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: The Cheetah
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Your welcome...it's good to see that it worked out for ya.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-14-2012, 01:33 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: eastern oklahoma
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
this has recently got very easy

i had a similar problem, or so i thought, with the 545re dodge 5 speed trans behind my late model hemi i'm putting in my '24 dodge coupe. then i found out that they make a gps device that you wire to your electric speedometer. the unit costs just over a hundred bucks, and solves a big problem. i'm using a winters championship quick change rear end, so this will be very helpful. the sensor reads the speed of the vehicle, not the speed or pulses of the driveshaft, so no matter what gears you're using, it'll always read right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VSS to cable speedo on 700R4 Thumpin455 Transmission - Rearend 5 06-13-2011 12:50 PM
'57 chev speedo w/ 700R4? MattM Transmission - Rearend 3 06-03-2009 07:31 PM
VDO programmable speedo with 700r4 murrsue Transmission - Rearend 6 02-07-2007 05:36 PM
700r4 elect speedo fire power Transmission - Rearend 2 05-06-2005 05:19 PM
700r4 Tailshaft/speedo jrpontiac Transmission - Rearend 2 11-16-2003 07:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.