700r4 torque convertor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 04:24 PM
USAF F-16 ELECTRICIAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: utah
Age: 30
Posts: 140
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 torque convertor

someone told me that a th350 torque convertor will fit on a 700r4 and you dont need the lockup wiring harness to make the trans work right. this sounds a little shady so i was just curious if it is true.

thanks in advance

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 04:39 PM
ronb's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater,FL.
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 455c-10
someone told me that a th350 torque convertor will fit on a 700r4 and you dont need the lockup wiring harness to make the trans work right. this sounds a little shady so i was just curious if it is true.

thanks in advance
sounds like that someone" is on crack?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 04:54 PM
USAF F-16 ELECTRICIAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: utah
Age: 30
Posts: 140
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well there are alot of people around here that think that they know everything and since i dont know i ask questions if it doesn't seem right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 05:12 PM
ronb's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater,FL.
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 455c-10
well there are alot of people around here that think that they know everything and since i dont know i ask questions if it doesn't seem right.
well then you are smarter than them!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 05:18 PM
USAF F-16 ELECTRICIAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: utah
Age: 30
Posts: 140
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so then i do need to hook up the lock up wiring harness. the engine isnt done yet so no biggie. im stillnot sure how to hook up the tv cable. when i bought the truck it had a 305 connected to the 700r4 now it has a 350 connected to it. the wiring harnes never was hooked up and it doesnt have the hookups for it. how hard or important is it to hook up the wiring for the lock up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 05:37 PM
ronb's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater,FL.
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 455c-10
so then i do need to hook up the lock up wiring harness. the engine isnt done yet so no biggie. im stillnot sure how to hook up the tv cable. when i bought the truck it had a 305 connected to the 700r4 now it has a 350 connected to it. the wiring harnes never was hooked up and it doesnt have the hookups for it. how hard or important is it to hook up the wiring for the lock up?
Unless there were serious mods made to internals of that 700? the tv cable needs to be hooked up and adjusted properly! i assume you are using a carb? if you are you need to get the right tv bracket! the quad and holley carbs use different styles! either one can be purchased from TCI automotive as well as the wiring kit for the lockup converter! B&M also has a wiring kit! they sell for around $65 and include everything you need!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 05:59 PM
USAF F-16 ELECTRICIAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: utah
Age: 30
Posts: 140
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i appreciate your help. i am wondering how the hell i was able to drive it as long as i did. i always shifted it manually though so i dont know how much of a difference that makes. i could make the wiring harness myself if i had a diagram for it. save me 65 dollars i dont have.

thanks again for your help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 06:04 PM
ronb's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater,FL.
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 455c-10
i appreciate your help. i am wondering how the hell i was able to drive it as long as i did. i always shifted it manually though so i dont know how much of a difference that makes. i could make the wiring harness myself if i had a diagram for it. save me 65 dollars i dont have.

thanks again for your help.
yes you could make it yourself! but you will need a pressure switch to install in the 4th gear oil port and they are difficult to find alone but are included in the B&M kit
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 06:08 PM
USAF F-16 ELECTRICIAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: utah
Age: 30
Posts: 140
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well guess i will look into buying that. oh well. what about getting the harness from the trans donor car. i was told it was a 91 caprice. but im guessing the harness is integrated in with all of the other ones.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-01-2005, 08:17 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,075
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 324
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 455c-10
well guess i will look into buying that. oh well. what about getting the harness from the trans donor car. i was told it was a 91 caprice. but im guessing the harness is integrated in with all of the other ones.

read this site twice: lockup ........ email questions to me

part number for the needed pressure switch is there too
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2005, 02:53 PM
ronb's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater,FL.
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 455c-10
well guess i will look into buying that. oh well. what about getting the harness from the trans donor car. i was told it was a 91 caprice. but im guessing the harness is integrated in with all of the other ones.
the harness out of the donor car will not do you any good if you are not using a computer(ecm)? the B&M wiring kit has everything you need! NOTE! the pressure switch in the B&M kit is different than the internal gm switch that is shown in the link crosley provided us as it is installed on the outside of the case in the 4th gear pressure port(has a double spade terminal). also if you can find a 1985 gm van at the local salvage yard with the T350c? this has almost and identical setup as the B&M kit! you can use the harness off this vehicle!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2005, 06:15 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,075
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 324
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronb
the harness out of the donor car will not do you any good if you are not using a computer(ecm)? the B&M wiring kit has everything you need! NOTE! the pressure switch in the B&M kit is different than the internal gm switch that is shown in the link crosley provided us as it is installed on the outside of the case in the 4th gear pressure port(has a double spade terminal). also if you can find a 1985 gm van at the local salvage yard with the T350c? this has almost and identical setup as the B&M kit! you can use the harness off this vehicle!

Trying to use an external pressure switch......the only problem that may come up is the pressure ports were deleted in the 1989 700 tranny cases.... it was a running delete. I've had 1989 cases with full pressure ports drilled and plugged, I've had 1989 cases with the bosses there with NO holes, and I've seen 1989 cases with NO boss for the ports at all.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 10:31 AM
ronb's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clearwater,FL.
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
Trying to use an external pressure switch......the only problem that may come up is the pressure ports were deleted in the 1989 700 tranny cases.... it was a running delete. I've had 1989 cases with full pressure ports drilled and plugged, I've had 1989 cases with the bosses there with NO holes, and I've seen 1989 cases with NO boss for the ports at all.
yup your right crosley! i have seen a few myself! the thing is thought will he be able to use the wiring schematic you provided and be able to manually unlock the lockup if needed for towing? the B&M kit includes a rocker switch for this option and you do not need to drop the pan to hook it up!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2005, 01:28 PM
USAF F-16 ELECTRICIAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: utah
Age: 30
Posts: 140
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i really appreciate all the help. i am going to be going to michigan for a month to visit my family so i will have my dad look for one. it is alot easier to find stuff like that in michigan then it is in utah. that and i know quite a few guys that own trans shops and performance shops, so they can hook me up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build for Hp or Torque? Venturat Engine 76 09-23-2008 10:22 AM
Torque convertor advice Throttle Transmission - Rearend 1 05-03-2005 07:59 AM
700r4 torque converters-identification hueysrod Transmission - Rearend 3 03-14-2005 08:46 PM
th350 torque convertor installation MickiG13 Transmission - Rearend 2 11-07-2004 12:21 PM
opinions needed - Torque convertor issue badA31 Transmission - Rearend 15 11-24-2002 09:11 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.