700r4 torque convertor flair - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Salem,Or
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4 torque convertor flair

Installed new Bowtie O/d convertor for possible vibration problem - had slight flair( or slipping) on hills in o/d. replaced with new one and problem, is worse. Have Bowtie o/d kit and it worked perfectly on original convertor. Changed input shaft seal on last replacement. Shifts fine and have verified voltage to plug. In 36 Ford street rod with all Bowtie parts for trans. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:27 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 690
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
700r4

Do you mean the transmission has, or had, a flair or slip, in overdrive?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2008, 02:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Salem,Or
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
engine will flair 200-300 rpm's only when in lockup mode. I wired a switch in the lock up circuit to switch off the lockup and never has engine flair - shifts to 4th and works ok. . When in lockup- engine rpm will flar up a couple hundred PRM's then catch and relock up then do it again. thanks for the reply
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:00 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,431
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 329 Times in 286 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmac26
Installed new Bowtie O/d convertor for possible vibration problem - had slight flair( or slipping) on hills in o/d. replaced with new one and problem, is worse. Have Bowtie o/d kit and it worked perfectly on original convertor. Changed input shaft seal on last replacement. Shifts fine and have verified voltage to plug. In 36 Ford street rod with all Bowtie parts for trans. Any ideas would be appreciated.
If your running all the GM sensors and computer in the circuit, this is normal. When in OD and loaded up so the engine is working as opposed to loafing along, it should come out of lock up and perhaps OD depending on data it's getting.

If there is no computer in the circuit and the lock up is switched manually on or off, as the tranny sees more load on the output end and is trapped against a locked converter on the other end, 4th will slip.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Salem,Or
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bogie -- ther is no computer in the circuit- your thinking that it might be actual 4th gear slipping a few hundred RPM's than catch up and start to slip again?

As always - thanks for the info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:40 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,431
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 329 Times in 286 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmac26
Bogie -- ther is no computer in the circuit- your thinking that it might be actual 4th gear slipping a few hundred RPM's than catch up and start to slip again?

As always - thanks for the info
I keep forgetting the 700R4 is a mechanically controlled 4L60E which I'm more familiar with. However, I'm expecting that as load goes up it's hunting between 4th and 3rd and back. This might be as simple as a TV cable adjustment.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will a 700R4 withstand BBC 500+ lb-ft of Torque? Malibu73 Transmission - Rearend 28 02-28-2006 05:30 PM
700r4 tranny in 2nd gen 1980 camaro !HELP! william27103 Transmission - Rearend 10 11-02-2005 06:53 AM
Torque Converters: Do They Multiply Torque? purple1967camaro Transmission - Rearend 1 04-28-2004 10:41 PM
Is 2 1/2 pipes big enough? Mustang_Killa66 Engine 7 02-12-2004 08:04 AM
How do threadf lubes affect torque values? jonathanks Engine 7 02-03-2004 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.