700r4 TQ lockup goes Rapidly in and out - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2012, 12:20 PM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 216
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
700r4 TQ lockup goes Rapidly in and out

41 Willys coupe, 350, 11;1, large comp cam, 2x4"s (Holly 465) on tunnel ram. 700r4 with TCI lockup kit, 3500 stall TQ, ford 9" 390 gears, 30" M/T drag radials.

The TQ will rapidly lock and unlock even between 70-80 on the interstate. Didn't have this problem with the old 1200 stall TQ. I know, 1200!? It was defective, suppose to have been 3000 stall. I've checked the TV cable a couple of times and it seems to be correct. I have it wired so I can turn it off by a rocker switch on the dash and through the gm brake light/cruse control switch. Checked wiring and it all seems to be ok.
I'm thinking internal 4th gear switch?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-21-2012, 09:51 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Did the TCI lockup kit come with a manifold Vacuum switch? If so it may need to be adjusted.
If the Brake Light switch is out of adjustment it can also cause this. Try holding the Brake pedal up while driving & see if it stops.
Bad TCC Solenoid or worn/leaking TCC Apply Valve in Pump are other problem areas.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2012, 10:15 AM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 216
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64 View Post
Did the TCI lockup kit come with a manifold Vacuum switch? If so it may need to be adjusted.
If the Brake Light switch is out of adjustment it can also cause this. Try holding the Brake pedal up while driving & see if it stops.
Bad TCC Solenoid or worn/leaking TCC Apply Valve in Pump are other problem areas.

The TCI switch tested at 6" of vacuum.
I've checked the brake light switch (working) have held it up as suggested, no difference.
" worn/leaking TCC Apply Valve in Pump " Where is this located and can it be checked, repaired, replaced by a competent transmission shop? Would the pump need to be replaced?

Drove it to Tulsa, Ok. yesterday to drag races, 120 miles one way. Lockup never occurred going up there. On the return trip it engaged and stayed engaged once at bout 75 Mph. Using the switch on the dash I could engage and disengage it at will just for that period of time, bout 10 minutes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2012, 06:31 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
4th Pr.switch is a possibilty.
TCC Solenoids often go bad even new.
The TCC Apply valve is in the bottom of the Pump cover under the TCC Solenoid inside the Pan.
Solenoid is passenger side front or bottom left in Pic with Red wire:
http://www.rowand.net/Shop/Tech/imag...alWiring01.jpg

Sonnax - Aftermarket replacement transmission, torque converter, and high performance automotive parts
http://www.sonnax.com/system/announcement/77805-K.pdf
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting non-lockup 700R4 to lockup V8TEC Transmission - Rearend 7 09-10-2011 09:25 AM
700r4 lockup wahamilton87 Transmission - Rearend 9 06-16-2009 12:20 PM
700r4 Lockup lelshaddai Transmission - Rearend 11 08-04-2008 01:23 PM
700R4 lockup ID Richs66chevelle Transmission - Rearend 3 06-12-2006 11:45 PM
700R4 non lockup Jagwar Transmission - Rearend 0 04-12-2004 10:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.