700r4 trans, will not move - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2012, 09:37 PM
Prof. T. Soggmeyer's Avatar
Plan B
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: below the snow above the fog
Posts: 162
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
same problem...

I got my trans out of a running s-10 6 years ago, I changed the fluid and installed 2 years ago, finally started the truck yesterday and it won't move. Tv cable is set right, it has a new tcc lock-up kit in it. Could it have a plugged filter from sitting so long?
Brad

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2012, 10:39 PM
blwn31's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Placerville,CA
Posts: 152
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
A few dumb questions. Do you have the torque converter installed correctly? When you changed the filter and fluid did you remove the old "O" ring seal that goes on the pick up tube? It doesn't always come out when you remove the old filter. Then you push the new filter in and it falls out. If all is good, put a pressure gauge on the trans main pressure port above the gear shift selector, and see what you got.

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2012, 10:10 PM
Prof. T. Soggmeyer's Avatar
Plan B
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: below the snow above the fog
Posts: 162
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwn31
A few dumb questions. Do you have the torque converter installed correctly? When you changed the filter and fluid did you remove the old "O" ring seal that goes on the pick up tube? It doesn't always come out when you remove the old filter. Then you push the new filter in and it falls out. If all is good, put a pressure gauge on the trans main pressure port above the gear shift selector, and see what you got.

Keith
Sorry it took so long to reply. Well.. when I installed the converter it went a little, then after turning it a bit it slid in quite a bit, so much so I almost smacked my fingers. It has a pan that has a drain plug and it looks deeper than stock. the old double o ring came out with the filter. However I am not confident on how well the new filter holds in the tube. How far in the tube should the new o ring go? AND is there anything I can do to help hold the filter in there? If the filter dropped out of the tube would this cause a "no go" in any gear situation?
Brad...aka..soggy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-05-2012, 11:40 PM
blwn31's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Placerville,CA
Posts: 152
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
I'm no expert but, I believe the deeper pan would only require more fluid to achieve the proper level of fluid above the filter. I'm not sure how far the seal should be up the filter tube, sorry I can't help you there.
When installing the torque convertor, slide it all the way in until it bottoms out, it may require a little turning to engage the pump. Once it's engaged, if you turn the convertor you will hear the pump rotate. Then once you install the trans, slide the convertor up the the flywheel, and bolt up. That should do it. If still no gears, install a pressure gauge to the main line pressure port on the drivers side above the gear selector and see what you've got.

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2012, 01:45 PM
Prof. T. Soggmeyer's Avatar
Plan B
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: below the snow above the fog
Posts: 162
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
update...

Quote:
Originally Posted by blwn31
I'm no expert but, I believe the deeper pan would only require more fluid to achieve the proper level of fluid above the filter. I'm not sure how far the seal should be up the filter tube, sorry I can't help you there.
When installing the torque convertor, slide it all the way in until it bottoms out, it may require a little turning to engage the pump. Once it's engaged, if you turn the convertor you will hear the pump rotate. Then once you install the trans, slide the convertor up the the flywheel, and bolt up. That should do it. If still no gears, install a pressure gauge to the main line pressure port on the drivers side above the gear selector and see what you've got.

Keith
Well the external filter is full of fluid so I think the pump is working ok. I dropped the pan and the inside shifter moves that stepped gizmo. What should I be looking for?
Brad...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2012, 03:45 PM
Prof. T. Soggmeyer's Avatar
Plan B
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: below the snow above the fog
Posts: 162
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
attempt #2

A guy I know who builds a lot of show rods was telling me last night that you have to idle the motor and keep changing gears to get the trans to "pump up". He says you do this to fill the valve bodies, and this must be done or the trans won't work. Any truth to this? I have never heard this before. My external fluid filter is full of fluid from the initial startup, I topped off the trans and still nada...wont move, it's like every gear is neutral.
Brad..
ps: I will put a gauge on the port and get a reading, just wondering if anyone has any insight or has experienced this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 07:01 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Still running strong
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lakehills Tx
Posts: 539
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 49
Thanked 39 Times in 38 Posts
So you put the pressure gage into the port that is above the gear shifter shaft, right.Then get the back tires off the ground with jack stands, you really don't want it falling off when its in drive......Engine ideling & warmed up, reverse & D1,2,3,4 should be in the 175 to 190 psi. range.If its lower than 150 psi. then something not right,I would think after you put on a known working torque converter an you do your pressure test and you have low psi. you might have something leaking or sticking inside the trans.To many seals/o rings/spools that might be glued together from sitting for so long.When ever you put on a new / empty torque converter pour in about a quart an a half of atf in it and fill the trans to the dip stick level. Start the engine let it run for 20 seconds then shut it off then refill the trans to dip stick level.One other thing when its idleing and in drive pull on the tv cable an see if that changes anything.Also go to bowtie overdrives and read their tv cable setup, its tv101 or something like that,I would read that before doing anything elas.

Last edited by dogwater; 04-17-2012 at 07:10 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 09:27 AM
blwn31's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Placerville,CA
Posts: 152
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
A guy I know who builds a lot of show rods was telling me last night that you have to idle the motor and keep changing gears to get the trans to "pump up". He says you do this to fill the valve bodies, and this must be done or the trans won't work. Any truth to this? I have never heard this before. My external fluid filter is full of fluid from the initial startup, I topped off the trans and still nada...wont move, it's like every gear is neutral. Brad..
Brad, I didn't do it that way when I rebuilt my 700R4. But different strokes... Check every gear in manual position with minimum TV pressure and max TV pressure. For minimum TV pressure just read the gauge with the trans in the selected gear. To get max TV pressure pull the TV cable at the carb or throttle body all the way out and read the pressure. I have an ASTG manual all the mins and max pressures if you need me fwd them to you.

Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 03:43 PM
Prof. T. Soggmeyer's Avatar
Plan B
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: below the snow above the fog
Posts: 162
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by blwn31
Brad, I didn't do it that way when I rebuilt my 700R4. But different strokes... Check every gear in manual position with minimum TV pressure and max TV pressure. For minimum TV pressure just read the gauge with the trans in the selected gear. To get max TV pressure pull the TV cable at the carb or throttle body all the way out and read the pressure. I have an ASTG manual all the mins and max pressures if you need me fwd them to you.

Keith
Thanks, I sure could use that info and would really appreciate it.
Brad...
Just put a new converter in and pretty close to firing it up and seeing what it does.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.