700r4 transmission 3rd gear shifting problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 08:08 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
700r4 transmission 3rd gear shifting problem

My trans 700r4 shifts good in 1and 2 but not in 3rd . After the rpms go threw the roof I let off and step back in it its there. Now normal street driving it works fine.the problem is when I manually shift. At 6200 rpm .and it is a rebuilt trans with less than 50 miles .

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 01:07 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by louis165
My trans 700r4 shifts good in 1and 2 but not in 3rd . After the rpms go threw the roof I let off and step back in it its there. Now normal street driving it works fine.the problem is when I manually shift. At 6200 rpm .and it is a rebuilt trans with less than 50 miles .

was the checkball and capsule replaced behind the servo on the rebuild?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 01:24 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I dont know I'm hoping Yall can help me out and give me a few things to check out with out removing it thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 09:10 PM
cudablack2004's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2011
Location: glen burnie, md
Age: 26
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
did u adjust the tv cable correctly if its any slack the trans will overlap 1st and 2nd then act as if its slipping when u attempt to shift to 3rd if those are the symptoms then thats a start i had that same problem yesterday when i installed my trans then adjusted the cable and its fine now
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2011, 02:25 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
It may need adjustment .the kick down shifting is sluggish . :......:......... These shifts were at at wot 1st was great 2nd spun tire then hooked at about 6400 rpm I shifted to third and nothing but high rpms I let off for a sec got back in it good to go it didn't seem to slilp . Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2011, 06:55 AM
cudablack2004's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2011
Location: glen burnie, md
Age: 26
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yep adjust the cable start from scratch i had to pull my cable off the linkage then hook back up pull the slack out the cable hold in place then turn the throttle linkage to wot and it pretty much pulled all the slack out look it up and find out how exactly its to be done
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2011, 07:05 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'l l give ir a try thanks. I'll let ya know in a little bit
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2011, 05:06 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well thanks for the help guys but I think its to late .I was going down the hwy and gave it a little gas and I could tell it was slipping ..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2011, 05:27 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
May have already smoked the 3-4 Clutch pack. Auto clutches don't survive high rpm slippage many times, they become glazed or burnt & wont hold the torque.
You can try resetting the TV cable + a few clicks tighter but, it may be too late.
http://www.jakesperformance.com/TV_C...etup_Info.html
http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sum...o/700R4p1.html
3-Parts TV 101>> http://www.tvmadeez.com/article/index.php
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2011, 05:50 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I think the tv settings were real close I made sure the shift points were at tci suggest them to be at . I did the 1 to 2nd kick down test . It seem to be fine . Until I started running it . And I believe that once they slip it over . May be the guy will check it out if not I got PG this morning
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-25-2011, 07:09 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 130
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'm back with a few more questions ?what kind of gauge can I use to test the trans pressure ? I have adjusted the tv cable from one end to the other shifts never got long maybe 15mph and they never got hard . I read and followed the directions .purchased the tci carb brackets . I'm starting to think its ether valve body or stall converter . It doesn't seemlike clutches slipping . What do Yall think ? .I'm hoping its something I can fix my self thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700R4 problem Shifting to 3rd gear Regular6d Transmission - Rearend 7 08-01-2010 01:29 AM
700r4 not shifting out of 1st gear metalhead2910 Transmission - Rearend 1 08-09-2008 03:16 PM
700r4 shifting and 2nd gear . eliotmansfield Transmission - Rearend 4 06-20-2004 04:09 AM
700r4 not shifting out of 1st gear AKGMC Transmission - Rearend 2 06-08-2003 05:27 PM
700R4 Transmission shifting problems Judd Wymer- VA Transmission - Rearend 1 01-10-2003 04:17 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.